enough of Eset

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by larryb52, Dec 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    Got 2 BSOD that does me in, I have had enough, plus it won't right scan when I right click on a zip files says out of memory (1.5 gig mem)on zip file, there's no excuse for either, I'll spend my money else where...
     
  2. kC_

    kC_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    452
    mmmm vista sounds luvvly!:doubt:
     
  3. Kosak

    Kosak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    711
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Hi!

    Why do you want to scan so big archive? If there is infiltration, it will be detected when archive will be extracted.

    :thumb:
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Maybe your temp folders are full and ESS cannot write into them when unpacking archives?
     
  5. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    thanks, Marcos but I still had those BSOD, that is troubling...
     
  6. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    I'm going to try again & delete the eset folder before installation, I prefer using Nod32 & I am using vista...
     
  7. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    temp file empty, still out of mem or space?, any suggestions...
     
  8. clambermatic

    clambermatic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Posts:
    216
    a) ...try scanning with a Ewido Micro/cureIT before running your default scanner on the zip files again... maybe there are some pests playing hide/seek which your default AV haven't caught on with.

    b) ...try scanning those zips with your default AV via "SafeMode" and check if right-click works.
     
  9. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    I tried 2 other AV's the zips were scanned just fine. ESET needs to look at this issue, I looked at the scan I ran yesterday(full) & no compressed files were opened & scanned (same issue). I don't feel protected when I had over 100 files unscanned...
     
  10. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    Trying to use Nod is taking a hell lot of energy these days and I wonder how long people will put up with this. I'm not any more!
    And it's not right that is being blamed on Vista, come off it.
    Other AV programs have no problems at all with Vista. And who's going to say what OS you should use with a certain piece of software? Just ridiculous.
     
  11. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    If I were you, I'd switch back to XP. I did, for lots of reasons. I still have an image of Vista, that i mount from time to time, to update and so on. But IMHO Vista is still in a beta stage. I never had any problems with any AV software on XP, but AV software on Vista is sometimes it will, sometimes it won't. Vista is still living it's own life, no matter how much you tweak it.
    I know this maybe is a little off topic, but still...:D


    Happy holidays
     
  12. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    I don't have any trouble at all with Vista.......from day one on! :thumb:
     
  13. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark

    Yes, and you're using Dr.Web, not NOD32, right?! Maybe you're just lucky with Dr.Web and Vista in combination:D


    Cheers
     
  14. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    I have been using Nod32 2.7 with Vista as well and had no trouble at all. The problems started with the release of version 3.0 and therefore I keep on saying, that it is not Vista or Windows Mail, it's Nod32 not being built properly before putting it out on the market this time. No more, no less!
    Same with stating that OE is not the right email client........it always has been. It may not function properly with Nod32 v.3.0, but then you shouldn't blame OE.
     
  15. Dugite

    Dugite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Posts:
    26
    in that case lets all go back to windows 3.1 XP has too many bugs or was that just something I read when XP first came out. Gee's come on Vista is the new platform as with Windows 3 XP will soon not be supported welcome to the year 2007.
     
  16. stueycaster

    stueycaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    293
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  17. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    What I dont understand for all that where happy with V 2 and upgraded to v 3 and now looking to dump eset because of issues with v 3 Why? solution no brainer roll back to 2.7 wait out the v 3 like fine wine better with age.
     
  18. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    Exactly and i wish Eset would realize it instead of treating Outlook Express like a little used "rogue" client and blaming it on the issues :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2007
  19. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Numerous off topic posts removed concerning the pros\cons of other operating systems.

    Also, since there really is no support issue involved and the user has had "enough of Eset", we will also bring this thread to a close.

    Bubba
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.