Encryption of Secure Zone in True Image Home 11

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by DasGenie, Mar 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DasGenie

    DasGenie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Hello.
    When i create a normal Backup and use encryption i can choose between AES 128, AES 192 and AES 256.
    When i use the Secure Zone the is no choice. I can only enter a password.

    How strong is the Secure Zone encrypted?
     
  2. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    I run Version 10, but looking through the Version 11 Users Guide I couldn’t find that option. Only the option to decrypt Windows encrypted files in the backup image.
    Anyway, I don’t think the ASZ is or can be encrypted. The “security” is built into the nature of its ”hidden-ness”.
     
  3. DasGenie

    DasGenie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    But if it's not encrypted, why can i set a password when i create it?
     
  4. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    You then need the password to restore.
    No different than putting a password on a Word document. You need the password to open it with Word, but the file itself is not encrypted.
     
  5. futurebeam

    futurebeam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    IMHO that's absolutely no gain in security though ...
     
  6. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    You're catching on. While harder to see than other partitions, the Secure Zone i sneither invisible nor a safe haven and really has only strong good purpose -- providing a place to backup if you have only one harddisk. But even then, that's a poor solution, you really need another harddisk or you won't be able to restore if the original disk goes south. That's my opinion. There are others.
     
  7. futurebeam

    futurebeam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Saving a backup on the same physical media as the live-system is pointless. SZ is good for features like "Try&Decide" but that's about it. At least - that's how I use it.
    For me - in order to sleep well ;) - backups must not even stay on the same physical machine. What if your power-supply blasts all devices? (I had the luck to experience that some time ago)
    Well - this is an endless topic and probably not to be discussed here ;)
     
  8. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    All you need is a little imagination to really get the best out of the secure zone.
    1. Keep it on a second dedicated drive.
    2. Schedule backups to happen automatically.
    3. Don't bother with valiations..Instead..
    4. Restore from time to time to a swapped main hard drive.

    Working this way I have a stock of proved backup images plus at least one up to date ready to go hard drive which is external to the computer and could be taken off site if so desired.

    Xpilot
     
  9. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    That’s why the “ ” around security and hidden-ness.

    It’s certainly a poor choice for your only backup, but hardly pointless IMO. It’s one of the easiest and quickest ways to recover from a bad install or a “Damn, I didn’t what to delete THAT!” situation. I have one of my backups stored on the system drive (albeit, in a different partition) and have used it to restore a few times in the past.
     
  10. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    I'm still trying to figure out where that option is.
     
  11. DasGenie

    DasGenie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Same dialog where you can set compression level.
     
  12. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Well, I went through the Acronis True Image 11.0 Home User's Guide again and don't see that anywhere.
     
  13. DasGenie

    DasGenie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    In my german User's Guide it is mentioned in chapter 5.4
     
  14. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    LOL - No such chapter here!

    TIUG.JPG
     
  15. DasGenie

    DasGenie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    I think its chapter 5.3 in your guide.
     
  16. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    OK, I give up. The only reference to encryption is the following, which only relates to decrypting files that Windows (not TI) has encrypted.

    “In archives, store encrypted files in decrypted state
    The preset is disabled.
    If you do not use the encryption feature available in Windows XP operating systems, simply ignore this option. (Files/folders encryption is set in Properties -> General -> Advanced Attributes -> Encrypt contents to secure data).
    Check the option if there are encrypted files in the backup and you want them to be
    accessed by any user after restore. Otherwise, only the user who encrypted the files/folders will be able to read them. Decryption may also be useful if you are going to restore encrypted files on another computer.
    These options relate only to file/folder backup.”
     
  17. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    My TI 11 Home is the same way as TheWeaz shows. Previously, AES encryption was stated as a feature of TI 11 Home and then removed because it wasn't really supported.

    Are you sure this isn't Echo (which does support AES)?

    Maybe the German version of TI Home 11 has more options?
     
  18. futurebeam

    futurebeam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    My German version of TI 11 Home does support AES encryption ... at least I have the option (and I am always using it).
    Never checked if the archives are really encrypted or if it's a dummy option o_O
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.