Emsisoft Anti-Malware and Emsisoft Internet Security 9.0 Public Beta

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Fabian Wosar, May 5, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,967
    Has anyone else got the high memory usage with XP? I have 2 GB installed.

    ScreenShot_EAM_v9,0_high memory usage_01.gif
     
  2. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    Canada
    Here is mine, Windows 7 though. Seems to be higher than I remember, not too worried though as CPU usage is like under 1%.

    Capture.PNG
     
  3. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,967
    It is definitely higher! ...and I can prove it, because I still have v8.1.0.40 running in another snapshot. Will post an image in a few days!...because I don't switch in and out my snapshots, daily.
     
  4. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Mine is quite high as of now BUT it's because i disabled "Memory usage optimization" option.
    I have plenty of unused RAM so i have no problem with EAM loading everything into the RAM. It reduces Disk I/O, which is good.
     
  5. Ciach0

    Ciach0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Posts:
    37
    I've got WIN7 64bit and ram consumption is similiar. I've noticed that "Active memory usage optimization" option could reduce memory load from aprox. 350-370 MB (optimization off) to 140-180 MB as you can see below.

    "Active memory usage optimization" ON:

    ram z wł.optymalizacją.png

    "Active memory usage optimization" OFF:

    ram z wył.optymalizacją.png

    IMHO ram consumption isn't as important as CPU usage, especially load peaks. I must say that CPU usage is contantly improving in beta version.
     
  6. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    I would recommend anyone who have 4 Gb and more RAM to disable "Active memory usage optimization". This will reduce disk load and hence decrease system impact from EIS!

    Short and sweet, you'll get better performance the more RAM EIS is using. :)
     
  7. controler

    controler Guest

    Is the antikeylogger option functional in this beta? Just wondering because I Used Zemana's test programs and didn't get any warning other then from WIn 8.1 as to allow it to run like all other programs.
     
  8. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    I think EIS isn't blocking keystrokes recording because Zemana test tool is whitelisted in the cloud by Emsisoft. Hence it's a legit application (according to Emisoft) and no need to block recording of keystrokes.
     
  9. controler

    controler Guest

    Why would it be white listed? The purpose of the test tool is to test your antimalware isn't it? Things sure have changed.
     
  10. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    Because the file itself isn't really malicious.

    Be sure to remove it from the whitelist and you'll see that EIS blocks recording of keystrokes just perfectly.

    I should add that the test tool from Zemana has been whitelisted for a long time. Last time I checked was 3 weeks ago.
     
  11. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    Behavior blockers in general can't be tested with leak tests like the Zemana test for example. You could even argue that a detection of such tools by a behavior blocker is a false positive. While HIPS only care about whether or not a certain API was called or a certain action took place, behavior blockers care a lot about the circumstances and combinations of events.

    From a behavior blocker's point of view the Zemana leak test is nothing like an actual keyloggers. To name just a few things:
    1. A keylogger is usually invisible to the user. It doesn't have any GUI or a tray icon. The Zemana leak test though does have a GUI to display what was logged.
    2. Keyloggers also usually install themselves in the system and make sure they run automatically during boot. This leak test on the other hand is just started by the user. It doesn't install itself and never adds itself to the autoruns.
    3. Just collecting what you type alone is not very useful. Keyloggers always have mechanisms that allow them to save what you typed or to send out what you typed through the network. Leak tests usually don't do that.
    4. Keylogger executables often "look" fishy. No icons, no version information, no digital signatures, usage of obfuscators and packers. Leak test executables on the other hand usually have a nice shiny icon, have proper version information and some leak test providers even signed their leak test.
    So when a behavior blocker sees the Zemana leak test call the SetWindowsHookEx API for example to install a window message hook it will notice that the application has the capability of logging keys, but all other aspects of the application point toward it being legitimate and not a keylogger, so it may decide not to issue an alert about it just yet.
     
  12. minegroasprilla

    minegroasprilla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    caracas
    Fabian, 2 questions:
    - Is EAM v.9 using the same 2 engines (bitdefender and Em)?
    - Can I install EAM v.9 and Comodo IS, together?.

    Thanks
     
  13. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    Yes, same engines and it should be working alongside Comodo IS just fine.
     
  14. minegroasprilla

    minegroasprilla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    caracas
  15. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
  16. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    We just released a new beta build today. Version number is 9.0.0.4057 for both Emsisoft Anti-Malware as well as Emsisoft Internet Security. If you have beta updates enabled under "Settings"/"Updates" the new version will be installed automatically.

    Changes in version 9.0.0.4057 compared to the previous version:

    • Fixed a couple of minor GUI glitches
    • Improved support for high DPI displays
    • Improved cleaning routines in file guard alerts
    • Improved default firewall rules
    • Two possible crash bugs fixed
    • Improved context menu support within data grids
    • Improved surf protection dialog
    • Cleaned up outdated translations
    • Fixed an issue that prevented scans of email container formats even though the archive scan was enabled
     
  17. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,273
    Location:
    USA
    Updated to 9.0.0.4057. Running smooth.
     
  18. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,975
    Location:
    Canada
    Same here, nothing to report so far
     
  19. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    Some users complain about crashes in Chrome, Opera & Mozilla. So far we haven't been able to reproduce them, but if your browser crashes I would love to hear from you so we can get this issue worked out. Thanks :).
     
  20. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    675
    Hi Fabian,
    This is probably not news to you, but have you tried running the browsers with some of the more popular extensions/add-ons?
     
  21. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    It has nothing to do with the loaded plugins or extensions. If it happens it happens even without any plugins or extensions installed. It happens on all Windows versions as well and across pretty much all Firefox versions:

    https://crash-stats.mozilla.com/report/list?signature=a2hooks32.dll@0x17087&range_value=7&range_unit=days&date=2014-06-09#tab-sigsummary

    I've also contacted Mozilla to try to get this issue worked out just in case none of our user steps up and provides us with the necessary crash dumps.
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2014
  22. Ciach0

    Ciach0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Posts:
    37
    I don't know if it's a clue, but I've updated recently my Adobe Flash plugin for Firefox to 13.0.0.214. After that I noticed two crashes of Firefox. I'll do a crash dump if it repets again.
     
  23. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    The crash doesn't happen in the plugin container (which is where Flash runs in) but the Firefox main process.
     
  24. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Is there any way to check the program version directly from the GUI?
     
  25. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    675
    I will give Firefox and Chrome a try later tonight.

    edit
    Well, after reading the crash report it shows 100% occurring on 32 bit. I can't help with this.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.