Emsisoft Anti-Malware and Emsisoft Internet Security 9.0 Public Beta

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Fabian Wosar, May 5, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    675
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2014
  2. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,812
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I think you may be right, I also think that this whole BB vs HIPS thing doesn´t make any sense. When I get my new PC I will take the BB for a test drive to see if it´s really less noisy, and if it can stop the same attacks as HIPS can. :)
     
  3. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    We thought it would be a good idea to let people know about the GUI change via our newsletter and the update news beforehand, so they don't freak out once we release the new version. We feel pretty confident with Emsisoft Anti-Malware 9.0 at the moment so it shouldn't take much longer until we have a release. Emsisoft Internet Security however needs a bit more work until we have all the kinks worked out but that is fine with us :).

    Since the release is getting closer: Any specific wishes for a release promotion you want me to forward to the marketing people? :)
     
  4. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    Fabian, please make sure that all reported Tracker bugs are ironed out prior to the final release.
     
  5. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,273
    Location:
    USA
    Running 9.0.0.4021 today. No problems so far. Uninstalled 8.1.0.40, rebooted and did clean install of v9. Ran a few things rebooted twice now and no problems. It registered with Windows Action Center. Appears to have no conflicts with other programs I am running (my signature). Looking forward to final public release.
     
  6. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Just initiated a clean re-install to the latest version of Emsisoft Internet Security. One difficulty encountered...when trying to set-up a scan schedule...to a weekly scan I checked on enable scheduled scans and click on weekly Mon...wed...fri...and sunday .There should be a specific time ex:9:30am...but I tried entering my preferred time of 9:30 am but it stays fixed at 9:30 pm. Is this a bug...or is there a more apparent solution? Help...I'm stuck in time! Lol! Sincerely...Securon
     
  7. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    It's a bit unintuitive. Essentially what you need to do to switch from AM to PM is to move the cursor to PM and press the up or down arrow key on your keyboard.
     
  8. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Thanks for your prompt reply Fabian...Which leads to the most obvious reply...will the Release Candidate...be more intuitive? Sincerely...Securon
     
  9. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Fabian I currently have a license for EAM...now when 9.0 is released will there be special pricing offered to Beta Testers...and also it would be really convenient if a one license one pc is offered...as opposed to the standard 1 license for 3pc model. I don't own or need a license for 3 pc's. Now I understand the mktg behind it because a large segment of the world have laptop...netbooks and tablet's...and smart phones. But I simply need my trusty Desktop...Long Live The Desktop...Lol! Enjoy your Weekend. Sincerely...Securon
     
  10. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    I will suggest it. Whether or not it will be included is not up to me though.

    Pretty sure there will be some kind of promotion. I don't think it will be limited to beta testers only though :).
     
  11. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    947
    Location:
    Canada
    Latest version seems to have corrected the "Action Center" and "restart after update" bugs. Lovely!
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2014
  12. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,977
    I hadn't updated EAM for the last 3 days, but when I saw this, I new it was about to happen...

    ScreenShot_EAM_new_01.gif ScreenShot_EAM_new_01.gif
     
  13. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,977
    After, the obligatory reboot, a couple of hours or so later to complete the update...Lo and behold!...A new dawn! ;)

    ScreenShot_EAM_new_02.gif
     
  14. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,977
    My first alert, under the new EAM, which I was surprised to get, because I have been running EAM and WSA, together, for years. Looks like my settings were not carried across from the old EAM to the new.

    ScreenShot_EAM_v9.0_alert_01.gif ScreenShot_EAM_v9.0_alert_02.gif
     
  15. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,977
    My first scan...I don't necessarily agree with the verdict/results. ;)

    ScreenShot_EAM_v9.0_ First scan_01.gif

    ScreenShot_EAM_v9.0_ First scan_02.gif
     
  16. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,977
    Scan Log...
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,398
    Location:
    Germany
  18. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    The copy and paste bot strikes yet again.
     
  19. vonvon

    vonvon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Posts:
    49
    Location:
    Near Paris, in France
    Nows with 9.0.0.4021. No more problem even with WAC.

    A very good product.

    Best regards
     
  20. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    Both betas are running sweet as candy on test boxes :thumb:
    Close to putting EAM9 on one of our production machines.
     
  21. DoctorPC

    DoctorPC Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Posts:
    813
    Wonder how many of the 20 security programs you have installed caused that 'couple hours' for this to work?

    I cannot imagine having that much junk on a PC, much less see a reason for even half of that.
     
  22. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    The new Beta v9 is working great here. Not a single issue since it was updated!

    Congratulations to the Emsisoft team.
     
  23. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    Sometimes I wonder whether or not my testing VM is broken...
     
  24. marzametal

    marzametal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Posts:
    766
    Ummmmm, is there any info available on the "fine grained packet filtering rules" yet? Just curious to see if I can be tempted to ditch my current firewall setup and return to the OA firewall. I removed the firewall aspect of OA, had a craving to drill deeper into firewall settings... so went with Windows 7 with Advanced Security + Windows Firewall Control. Tried out Comodo Firewall v5.x free version but lost interest quickly; felt like I needed a Bachelors Degree just to master the interface.
    EDIT 1: I noticed some screenshots on Page 2, Post 48. Question, is there any way to add restrictions based on IP addresses? I use a VPN, and my current setup blocks everything prior to VPN connection. I tried to do this in OA v7, but was not successful, so switched to W7FwAS + WFC. I think the answer might be "no", since the average user is the target demographic, even though I still consider myself an average user, but wanting a bit more... Unless the "Addresses" drop down box in this picture https://i.imgur.com/PMISWRx.png allows for specific entries, rather than pre-defined groups?

    Just curious, when you say tandem, do you mean just running or did you actually inject EAM settings into AppGuard?

    Wow, after going page by page, this is the answer I was looking forward to reading! Will you also be providing the option to uninstall the firewall in EIS 9 as well... just like in the current stable/non-beta OA?

    Is there any way to prevent the version 9 updates from happening automatically via internal updating? For example, I want to hang onto the current EAM version 8 and the current OA version 7 for the time being. I don't have beta-updates ticked, however when the version 9's become stable, they will be downloaded via hourly updates... any way to stop this from occuring?
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2014
  25. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    You can select "Custom addesses" and provide your own list of addresses:

    upload_2014-6-7_15-14-36.png


    Uninstalling the firewall from EIS will effectively make it EAM. So if you want to use EIS without the firewall, install EAM instead. There is no option to uninstall the firewall part later.

    No, there is not. In general we only support the latest versions of our products.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.