Emsisoft Anti-Malware 9 released

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by emsisoft, Jun 18, 2014.

  1. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    That is my general experience as well. That's quite fascinating, considering how nearly all other suites slows down browsing considerably. Most other suites require a Browser Extension (most of the times bloated) while Emsisoft doesn't. That is a huge plus in my opinion.
     
  2. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    Installed on 3 home machines now.
    Running smooth as silk and no imaginary rootkits found so far :)
     
  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    what is imaginary rootkits?is that a new malware type?
     
  4. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    I guess just a False positive. :)
     
  5. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Couldn't agree more. I have actually started to avoid AV's that uses browser extensions, add-ons or similar. Then we have ESET, Emsisoft, and (I think) also F-secure is browser independent.
     
  6. Dear CEO

    Although I understand your excitement and urge to make some marketing noise to support the announcement, I really don't understand why new customers are more rewarded as existing customers. Have you ever tried referral actions, e.g. get 50% discount (newly introduced client) and 50% renewal (existing client) when an existing customer brings in a new customer? For marketing sake: you will probably log how many $9,99 licenses you sold, calculate what percentage it is of your existing customer data base, now figure out how many referrals you needed to accomplish the same installed base increase. Please administrate how many of these action driven price sensitive customers are still a paying client after a year. Now compare the required referral percentage again. The possible poor experiences of earlier referral programs suddenly don't look that bad anymore. Next year enjoy an Austrian wine/beer and have a look at a nice mountain sunset and realize what this $9,99 action has added to your bottem line and brand image.

    Regards Kees
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 24, 2014
  7. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    The offer can be used by both existing and new customers. It just can't be used to extend an existing license.

    The affiliate program has been up for at least 8 years. The referral program has been up for a few years as well.

    You are aware that this isn't the first low price promotion we did, right? Just remember the $8 promotion we did for our 8th anniversary for example. So we do have the numbers about promotions like the current one and if they weren't beneficial, we wouldn't do them.
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2014
  8. That is my point yes

    No, in my brand perception EAM is a tier-1 player. The eight year promotion extra sales can be solely attributed to the price cut (was in 2011), so you know the customer retention stats. I also have no idea about customer loyalty bleed percentage of AV-products, so I take your word for it.

    On second thoughts "seducing customers into a mid-year switch moment" (which is a unusual in the end of year cycle of the AV industry) could be a smart strategy in terms of retention. Still wonder how existing customer experience the fact that they are excluded from license extension. But when it does not hurt your brand name, I stand corrected.

    Regards Kees
     
  9. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    2,011
    Location:
    Canada
    Fully agree with you on this one Kees. I have been a loyal customer to Emsisoft (two licences) for two years now. Both licences will terminate at the end of December. So what is my choice? If I buy two licences at $9.99 then I loose 6 months on my actual licence:(
     
  10. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    Send a mail to sales@emsisoft.com. I am certain something can be worked out.
     
  11. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    New users can't get more than a year of license time for the reduced price either. If you try to buy more than a 1 year license, the prices revert to the normal price.
     
  12. :thumb:
     
  13. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    5,997
    Location:
    New York City
    Received message "Turn on emsisoft" after update.
     
  14. Petrovic

    Petrovic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Posts:
    81
    Location:
    Russia
  15. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    594
    Location:
    Canada
    I purchased, here is my feedback:

    1 - During installation time we are offered to clean computer. Please make it faster. Even QuickScan takes a while. Webroot, Panda Cloud and MBAM scan faster. If I buy tech licence I wont be able to wait that long :)
    2 - If during the installation process software is unable to remove infection it does not let us finish installation, we have to repeat process, if it still does not remove infection we ending up in a loop. For example I could not remove some registry modifications and policies...
    3 - If I import my HOSTS file will it merge with yours or it will be used instead of yours?
    4 - Any way we (Wilderssecurity members) can upgrade to Internet Security at the discount price? :) (I am sure you would get more valuable feedback)
    5 - Its been a while that I noticed that your software is not always able to remove all infections... I dont have logs saved but I have seen cases where MBAM or ComboFix removes stuff that I could not with Emsisoft, I hope its fixed.
    6 - Does the software scan POP3 and IMAP protocols?

    I love the interface and the features, this, as well as branding colors is a big step forward. I would visit www.99designs.com and invest in a good looking LOGO that would help identify and memorize your brand.
     
  16. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    567
    I tried version 8.1 in the past. When I decided to trial version 9 I was informed that my trial had expired:eek: So I straight away activated my purchased license.

    How to know the program version number from the new GUI?:confused:

    EDIT: Just got the program version number from the about icon:)
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2014
  17. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    How long does a quick scan take for you? It takes less than 10 seconds on my system. Even on some very dated machines I haven't seen values beyond 30 seconds yet.

    You could always opt to not remove an infection during install.

    They are merged.

    If we do a promotion like that, we likely won't limit it to Wilders members only. At least not during the release.

    That depends on the version you tested last. We did make some major improvements to the cleaning in the past few major versions.

    No, we don't do any network stream scanning in general.

    I can guarantee you, that won't work out.
     
  18. elitethem

    elitethem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    @Fabian Wosar There seem to be a bug with behavior module/Emsisoft cloud network and CrystalDiskInfo ver. 6.1.14. The behavior module/Emsisoft cloud network gos into a endless loop and wont create a rule even though Emsisoft cloud network says add rule based on community.
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2014
  19. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    Thanks, we will look into it ASAP. For the time being you can create a rule manually.
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2014
  20. elitethem

    elitethem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    Many thanks. Keep up the good work. :)
     
  21. minegroasprilla

    minegroasprilla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    caracas
    Does the License-key of version 8.1.0.40 work on version 9?
     
  22. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
  23. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    594
    Location:
    Canada
    - It works now, not sure why it took a while yesterday... it takes less than 30 seconds, maybe if you scan for the first time it takes longer?

    - So basically EMSISOFT Antimalware 9 uses filtering via HOSTS to block bad websites, correct? Rest is done via antivirus engine & behavior blocker.
    - If a user gets email with virus.EXE, by using POP3 or IMAP protocol, will it be detected right away when email arrives or only if the file is accessed?

    - Are you developing bootable version of software that can scan files, MRB and registry independently of users OS? That would be technicians dream :)
    There is several bootable tools, however, non scan&clean registry very well...

    - Does your software uses script when removing adware so that it removes all known locations and traces or it uses engine to compare files to the database? Or if I ask differently, imagine there is a empty folder belong to Conduit, will it remove that empty folder or it will not since av engine did not detect any threat?

    ?
     
  24. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    We released a fix for the bug you encountered via beta updates. Would you mind enabling beta updates for a second and check whether it is fixed for you as well? :)
     
  25. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    838
    Location:
    Germany
    No, not really.

    No, we don't use the HOSTS file to filter access to malicious hosts. We just support importing entries from a HOSTS file.

    When the file is accessed.

    We have no such plans at the moment.

    We do support removing traces, yes.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.