emisoft anti malware 5.0 released

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by gazs1, May 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,613
    Location:
    Outer space
    I just installed AM to replace asquared free, there was no option during install or later to use as free on-demand scanner, so I chose the 3 days trial. After everyting was ready I found that I could revert to the free license in configuration settings, this also stopped the guard and everything so it seemed all right. However, everytime I start the program now, the wizard thingy comes again asking what license I want, and doing the first update, scan etc..
    Earlier in this topic someone else had this or a similar problem to, which was solved by version 5.0.0.60, but I'm already using 5.0.0.61 :S

    PS: I'm also curious about the horse logo, it reminds me of the real Trojan horse(in fact I just looked it up and it is exactly the same as the construction from the Istanbul Archaeological Museum.) Why use it as a logo when some 'species' of malware has the same name?
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2010
  2. emsisoft

    emsisoft Security Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    320
    Location:
    Nelson, New Zealand
    We'll investigate in that. Please try to login with your user account on Settings -> Licenses. Then select the freeware license from the list. That should fix it.
     
  3. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,808
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    :D Never thought of this...:argh:
     
  4. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    I also thought it was odd that they used a Trojan horse as their logo, but figured their marketing wasn't as good as their anti-malware, which by all the tests I've seen is one of the best. I've been using it in the trial period with no problems.
     
  5. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,613
    Location:
    Outer space
    Thanks, creating an account, logging in and then selecting the free license worked :)
     
  6. T-RHex

    T-RHex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    100
    Too bad for the Trojans, they didn't have any anti-malware resident.

    How about a large, wooden rabbit ... though, I think the horse should gallop when the scanner is running. Watching it spin gives me a headache!

    @justenough: I see you're "Trying Emsisoft Anti-Malware & Prevx". Together? How are they getting along with each other? I was considering the same.
     
  7. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Prevx ran fine with Emsisoft. I am now past trial period, and using Emsi AM on demand, with Avast and Prevx running real-time. Whenever I do a scan with Emsi, I disable Avast and Prevx.

    On computer start-up, I am getting a notice/ad for Emsi. Thought they had fixed that. I will take Emsi off if that keeps up. (EDIT: My mistake, I just needed to set up an account for the free version to stop the message from appearing.)

    After trying a bunch of anti-malware programs over the last half-year, I am down to deciding between keeping Avast and Prevx SOL, or buying the Hitman Emsisoft bundle. (EDIT: Or using MSE 2.0)
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2010
  8. progress

    progress Guest

    Here too, that's annoying :doubt: Please add an install option "Anti-Malware Free" :)
     
  9. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,808
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Yes like AVG...;)
     
  10. emsisoft

    emsisoft Security Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    320
    Location:
    Nelson, New Zealand
    There is such an option to directly get the freeware edition. On the wizard just select the third option "I already have a license or want to use the free version".
     
  11. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Re: emisoft anti mailware 5.0 released

    I was using a-squared because it doesn't run in memory chewing up my resources and slowing down my laptop.

    Does emisoft anti mailware do the same? Or does it run in memory like all the other anti virus programs? Should I get the Emsisoft Emergency Kit 1.0?

    So I assume a-squared is finished and replaced with emisoft anti mailware?:doubt:
     
  12. pot2pan

    pot2pan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Posts:
    54
    Same here, A-Squared free has served me well for a year. It was terminated without a warning (if you discount the constant suggestion those last few weeks to start using Emsi A-M which does much more than I want) on my PC.

    I did not find an easy way to get the offered free Emsi A-M scanner to kick start on my machine. From what I read here, access is obfuscated. Obviously the continuation of free usage is not actively encouraged and the pressure to take a yearly subscription can only increase from now on.

    I have now gone to MSE. Thanks Emsi for that year of good service; wish you well.
     
  13. emsisoft

    emsisoft Security Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    320
    Location:
    Nelson, New Zealand
  14. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,063
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Hi Christian,

    Is it under Beta stage?
     
  15. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    It is good antivirus. I have installed it on my teacher computer and he is satisfied with its detection rates.
     
  16. emsisoft

    emsisoft Security Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    320
    Location:
    Nelson, New Zealand
  17. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,063
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Thanks for the update information... BTW what is the difference between Emsisoft Command Line and Emsisoft Emergency Kit ?
     
  18. emsisoft

    emsisoft Security Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    320
    Location:
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Commandline has no graphical user interface, it's just command line ;)

    Scanner features are identical.
     
  19. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,063
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Oh i see :p .. I thought it does have GUI.. My mistake. :)
     
  20. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,560
    I have uninstalled a2free and have downloaded Emsisoft Emergency Kit 1.0. I have only plans to primarily use the Emsisoft Emergency Kit Scanner. However, I noticed that in the main graphical interface that when I click on BlitzBlank the BlitzBlank program does not open. I have no plans to use BlitzBlank at this time and I know that I can open it through its exe in the "Run" folder. However, I am just curious: Should the BlitzBlank program open when I click for it to open in the main graphical user interface? Is this a "bug"?

    Thanks in Advance.
     
  21. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Re: released

    I have found a BUG in the emisoft USB Emergency Kit version.

    When it starts scanning it always starts at 52% for some reason. It never starts at 0%.

    Never had that problem with a-squared.

    Anyone have any ideas?o_O
     
  22. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Re: released

    Either go over to Emsisoft forum and post a bug or PM emsisoft on here.
     
  23. emsisoft

    emsisoft Security Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    320
    Location:
    Nelson, New Zealand
    That bug has been fixed in today's build!
     
  24. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    I find this to be very useful :D
    I also love how simple it is :D :D
     
  25. pot2pan

    pot2pan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Posts:
    54
    Apologies, I probably did not read that message. I admit that I find the Emsisoft news/publicity pushing pop-up a pain in the proverbial.
    The only major thing I miss from A-Squared Free that is not in the kit scanner is the Windows Explorer integration. The flexibility that gave the scanner was an essential feature... sorry to see it go.
    MSE works great, but I guess I may still use the Emergency Kit as a second opinion scanner when I think the PC could be infected.
    Thanks for all this good work.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.