EMET and Windows 8

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by xxJackxx, Feb 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    Now that Windows 8 has been out for a bit, how is EMET working for anyone that has it installed? And what version are you using? It is not officially available for Windows 8 so I have hesitated to install it without knowing how it is working for others. Unfortunately, with the recent round of Adobe issues, I have tremendous interest in installing it.
     
  2. Gobbler

    Gobbler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Posts:
    270
    I have been using the EMET 3.5 since Windows 8 came out and overall it is running flawlessly with Windows 8 x64 and I have also all of the ROP mitigations enabled.The only exceptions are IE 10 and system level processes which probably because of Appcontainer refuses EMET other than that everything is perfectly well.
     
  3. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    :thumb:
    Is that the desktop version of IE10 or the "Metro" version? Or both? No big worries either way. I am more interested in applying it to Firefox, which needs it more. Thanks for the feedback. :thumb:
     
  4. Gobbler

    Gobbler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Posts:
    270
    Both desktop and metro versions.
     
  5. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the clarification. I have installed 3.5 and applied it to Adobe Reader and Firefox (and the plugin container). No issues so far.
     
  6. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    I use EMET 3.5 with DEP, SEHOP, and ASLR all set to "Always On" and many programs protected with all mitigation techniques. I have had very few issues, only with program installers like CCleaners.
     
  7. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,709
    Same experience since Win7 (provided I update my ATI drivers) except that I had no problem with CCleaner installer.

    On a note though, Realtek HD Audio driver installer refused to install but once you workaround it, the installed driver and program itself works just fine with those settings.

    A few other problematic installers/programs I have identified so far includes Advanced Uninstaller Pro, Vit Registry Fix, Q-Dir, etc.
     
  8. Krysis

    Krysis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    DownUnder
    Using EMET 3.5 on Max Settings in Win 8 Pro 64 bit (Firefox as default browser) - not a single issue thus far.
     
  9. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for all of the feedback, this is what I was hoping to see. Still running fine here. :thumb:
     
  10. ComputerSaysNo

    ComputerSaysNo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Posts:
    1,413
    Yeah 3.5 working perfectly here on Win 8 64
     
  11. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,248
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    EMET 3.5 works fine for Windows 8 except problems with certain installers and some portable apps I have tried.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.