Embedded trojan

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by Stro, May 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Stro

Stro Registered Member

Although I have the paid, licensed version of TDS-3 on my two home PCs, I'm rather new to the program and would appreciate advice on my recent experience.

When I opened TDS-3 a few days ago, it told me I had an "embedded trojan" located in symlcsvc.exe. This .exe file was a Symantec file in a /common folder. I closed TDS-3 and ran Norton Anti-Virus just to see if NAV would find anything. It didn't.

I opened TDS-3 again and tried to delete the infected file. I finally succeeded when I selected "kill process and delete file."

After I deleted the .exe file, however, I found I was unable to start Norton SystemWorks 2004, even after I rebooted.

Fortunately, I had made an image using BootIt NG a few days before, so I just restored the image and all was well again.

Note that I became infected with the embedded trojan while my Zone Alarm Pro 5 had "mobile code" enabled which blocks the following (according to ZA):
    - Scripts (vscript, etc.)
    - embedded objects (java, Active X), and
    - mime-type integrated objects
    Javascript was not blocked, however.

I'm also running licensed Process Guard. PG is password locked on my PC with new or revised .exe blocked from running (I have teenager boys!).

So I'm curious about the following:

- How did this nasty get in my PC in the first place? Through javascript off a website perhaps?

- I was unaware until now that trojans could entwine themselves in a legitimate file. What do you do if you don't have a recent image to restore? Uninstall and reinstall the software who's file became infected? I'm assuming there is no way to "cleanse" a file containing an embedded trojan.

- Does TDS-3 have a real time scanner running in memory, or is TDS-3 simply an on-demand memory & hard drive scanner?

- When TDS-3 deletes a file, does it go into the Recycle Bin?