Email Scanning Questions

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by graesid, May 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. graesid

graesid Registered Member

I have a problem understanding the Email Scanning in NOD 32 V3 . I have been trying to figure out the various settings . I looked this morning at the counter in the Modules table and it showed zero for emails scanned . I have been using V3 for over 3 months now and have received many messages .

Going into the Email settings in advanced I clicked for them to revert to default and sent myself some test emails . The counter then showed results but here is my first query .
    The counter seems to inrease in multiples -for example most times when I downloded a single message the counter increased by 6 each time . For a larger message in HTML there was a larger increase in the counter.
    Why would this be is this normal behaviour ?

When I discovered this I was actually trying to work out how to disable Email Scanning because I thought it was on by the Icon showing in OE . However it seems that if the counter was initially showing NIL I must have turned it off sometime BUT I do not know how I did it . As I would prefer to to disable it can some one tell me the simple procedure what I need to tick or untick in the Advanced Settings

Graeme

2. ASpace

ASpace Guest

If you want to permanenly disable the Email protection , in Advanced setup tree :

Attached Files:

3. ASpace

ASpace Guest

And this

em_prot_dis2.png

Then press OK to confirm the changes

4. graesid

Thanks for that information on disabling the email checking .

I wonder why the Counter showed no previous email scans , I am pretty sure I had not previously made the settings you suggest . The only thing I had set was for NOD not to attach messages to either incoming or outgoing messages . Would that affect the Scan counter o_O

Graeme

5. ASpace

ASpace Guest