Email Does Not Send

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by stephenmbell, Jan 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stephenmbell

    stephenmbell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    A client of mine just purchased Acronis True Image Enterprise Server to manage their backups.

    I have three different scheduled tasks to fire off various backups throughout the week, and I am trying to get an email to send out the report of the backups.

    My client does not have their own smtp server, they use their ISP. When I type in the smtp server that is used in their MS Outlook, and account information I receive the message:

    Cannot send test e-mail. Possible reason might be incorrect e-mail settings


    Is there some kind of trick I am missingo_O?

    Thanks in advance.

    smb
     
  2. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    1. Do you have a firewall issue from the ATI host ?
    To find out, try telnetting from your ATI host to port 25 on your ISP SMTP host, and if you can connect you will be served a one line banner. E.g. from a command window type telnet smtp.myisp.com 25.

    2. If that is OK try putting angled brackets around the email address e.g. <myaccount@myisp.com>

    F.
     
  3. stephenmbell

    stephenmbell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    I successfully was able to connect to the smtp server via telnet port 25. I also tried putting my email address in <..>

    Still having the same problem.

    It is a very small office, 1 server and 3 client PC's. They are all behind the same firewall, a linksys router.

    The server which runs ATI acts as an application server as well.

    Any other hints?

    thanks

    smb
     
  4. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    The other possibility is that it is not a connectivity issue but that the SMTP server it is complaining about the domain name in one of your email addresses.

    I suggest you go back to telnet and send a trial email from there using the same parameters that you fed ATI.

    There is an example of this on wikipedia under "sample communications" at

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Simple_Mail_Transfer_Protocol

    Note, you need to type in everything following "C: " for client, but you don't actually type that it. Obviously substitute your own parameters.

    Make sure you do press Enter, followed by a fullstop followed by Enter to mark the end of the data body.

    Hopefully you wont get that far anyway and the SMTP will complain about some of the parameters.

    F.
     
  5. stephenmbell

    stephenmbell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Everything worked, I received the email that I sent from the telnet window.


    Thanks

    sb
     
  6. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Also, can you confirm, that you telnetted from the ATI host. This is important.

    F.
     
  7. stephenmbell

    stephenmbell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    yes, it was from the server that is running ATI.

    Thank you

    smb
     
  8. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    OK. try an nslookup or a ping and determine the ip address of the SMTP host and configure that into ATI instead of its host name.

    F.
     
  9. stephenmbell

    stephenmbell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    still the same result, cannot send message.

    thanks.

    sb
     
  10. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    OK Stephen, I think we have established this is an ATI problem. I suggest you raise a support request.

    Before you do that, I recommend you search this forum, as there have been many people with similar problems.

    Please post back when you solve it.

    F.
     
  11. stephenmbell

    stephenmbell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    thank you for all your assistance.
     
  12. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    No problem, sorry I couldn't sort it.

    F.
     
  13. stephenmbell

    stephenmbell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Got it to work
    I enabled smtp on the win2k server, and used it as the smtp and everything worked fine.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.