EKRN.EXE wanted to send my PIN NUMBER

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by henrytyler, Jan 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. henrytyler

henrytyler Registered Member

I got a warning from Zone Alarm Firewall that EKRN.EXE wanted to send my PIN NUMBER to 102.112.2o7.net by using EKRN.EXE.

I am a relative novice compared to you guys........but has anybody else had this happen??

Henry

2. LowWaterMark

LowWaterMark Administrator

This can get a little complicated, so let's start from the beginning and step through it.

First of all, starting in NOD32 v3, EKRN.EXE by default proxies all Internet traffic for your webbrowsers and email clients. That simply means that all data going out and coming back from the Internet passes through NOD32 to be scanned for malware. EKRN.EXE does this on behalf of your browser and email clients, so there is no surprise there.

Second, the ID Lock feature in Zone Alarm also watches data going out from your PC so that it can scan for any data patterns you tell it to watch for. It seems that you entered your PIN number into the ZA vault so that it could watch for it in any data going out from your PC.

Now, the alert you got simply says that the data pattern that is also your PIN number was seen in the data stream going out to a particular website and the program transmitting it was EKRN.EXE. There are a lot of possibilities here...

First, and most common, is that it wasn't your PIN number specifically, but just the series of numbers that also happens to be your pin. The reason this is an important distiction is as follows. If my PIN number is "1234" and I enter it as a string to be monitored by ZA, then "any" occurrence of the numbers "1234" that go out of my PC will be flagged as an attempt that my PIN number is being communicated. If I try to make a post here that has the text "123456789" in it, it would be flagged as containing my PIN.