Ekrn.exe aplcation Error durring the startup

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by testsoso, Apr 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. testsoso

    testsoso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Posts:
    137
    Ekrn.exe error messege during the startup, before and after Windows login:

    0x2031a814 command 0xe787a9d0 memory, can't read the memory
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    new or existing install, what version eset? desktop or laptop (what model if latter)?
     
  3. testsoso

    testsoso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Posts:
    137
    new install ESS, the newest one, 4.2.40
    xp pro SP3,
    laptop
     
  4. CvikoM

    CvikoM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    o_O Same problem here..desktop , xp sp3. ESET smart security stable for years..
    Last program update started that problem..after 2-3 errors ekrn.exe starts ok until reboot.
    Tried to rename em001_32.dat to em001_32.dat.bak but that didn't help..
    Clean reinstall does not help either.. Will try previous version...
     
  5. Seb666

    Seb666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Hi all,

    I have the same problem since I install the 4.2 version.
    I uninstall completely the 4.0 version, clean the registry, reboot the computer and after install the 4.2 version.

    After a restart, if I don't login directly, after some seconds, I receive the error message.
    If I log me in, I receive the error message too... Memory cannot be read and after ESS Antispyware and Antivirus are disabled.
    But if I click to start real time protection, it starts directly without error message.

    I try to clean the registry but the problem is not solved.

    Find attached 2 screen shots of the error message and of the mail window of ESS (sorry it's in French).

    I hope some one have a solution of Eset developper can check...

    Version of ESS : 4.2.40.10 (commercial version)
    OS : Windows XP sp3

    Best regards from France,
    Seb.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Seb666

    Seb666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Re,

    I just reboot my computer and receive an error message...

    Find enclosed too 2 system error reports (in French too).

    I think I will try to reinstall the software.

    Best regards,
    Seb.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    try reinstall. Did you have any other security software installed prior to Eset (sometimes remains of it could cause issues)?
     
  8. Seb666

    Seb666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Hello,

    I uninstall, delete folder and reinstall ESS but the "same" problem... with more error messages...

    I had Spyware doctor running on my computer since 3 years without any problem. I deactive it some time before having some error messages and before doing the update to the last version of ESS.

    Best regards,
    Seb.
     
  9. Seb666

    Seb666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    I uninstall Spyware Doctor... but after the reboot... I had a Windows unlimited progess bar and was not able to login...

    I reinstall an old backup with the old (4.0.437.0) ESS... then no error messages anymore...

    I will try later to install the new version of ESS... after I wil be able to uninstall Spyware Doctor...

    I will keep you informed.

    Best regards,
    Seb.
     
  10. tactful

    tactful Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Posts:
    47
    Location:
    South Florida,USA
    Hello,I just finished install of 4.2.40.0 after reading the red sticky in this forum where someone does ask if they need to remove another version And NO problem as it explains in that about you should be just fime installing over it.just did - All other pograms are just fine,in other words I did not have to stop or uninstall anything
     
  11. CvikoM

    CvikoM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    ESET Smart Security 4.0.474 works fine.
    Tried reinstalling, registry cleaning etc.etc.Reverted back to 4.0.474 and it works fine..so something is wrong with 4.2.40
     
  12. Seb666

    Seb666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    It is recommended to uninstall the previous version of NOD32 or ESS because I know that sometimes, you might have a blue screen on the next reboot ...
    It is recommended but not mandatory ...
    Often what I do but not always.

    But I never had so much trouble to perform an installation of a new version of ESS ...
    I installed the last retail version of ESS on my father's computer with Windows 7 without any problems. I even uninstalled then Spyware Doctor 7 after (because his computer was really slow with both) without problem.
    No error message or something like that...

    I will normally try to install again the 4.2 version today...

    Best regards,
    Seb.
     
  13. Seb666

    Seb666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    OK that's a good thing for you if it's working fine.

    Just for info, I have some clients who is working with the old version of NOD32 (I think the version 2 or 3) and make updates of virus definitions only... It's well working but the look is old (with the 2 windows)... But it's not the best...

    I think Eset test the new version on all OS versions but... it seems to be a problem with some XP computers... but it's difficult to test all... because all computers is unique...

    I will try again later.

    Best regards,
    Seb.
     
  14. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    if you have a moment could you post the latest date minidump file from
    c:\windows\minidump\ . You might have to rename that file with .txt in order to attach it here
     
  15. Seb666

    Seb666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Find attached the last minidump file.

    Thanx for help.

    Seb.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    No luck with that minidump, it is coming with incorrect format. Not sure if board software is somehow changing or if the file itself is corrupt. Try one more time maybe with another minidump file
     
  17. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    619
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Seb,

    Have you got an Acer OrbiCam, the dump seems to point towards the lv321av.sys logitech driver.

    Also the following drivers from PCTools (Spyware Doctor?) are being loaded: PCTCore.sys, TfFsMon.sys, TfSysMon.sys
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2010
  18. Seb666

    Seb666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Sorry I was afk a long time...

    dump files seems to be the same like the attached one.

    Seb.
     
  19. Seb666

    Seb666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Hello,

    Yes I have an Orbicam on the laptop.
    The 3 sys files are, I think, from ThreatFire from Spyware Doctor...

    Did I have to unload it?

    Take care, it's the old version of ESS which is installed on my computer for the moment. No time to test to install the new one again.
    I will do it now.

    Seb.
     
  20. Seb666

    Seb666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Hello,

    I'm so dispointing...

    I uninstall Spyware doctor, clean registry, uninstall Registry Mechanic, check everything...
    I restart in safe mode and uninstall ESS (with Eset uninstaller).
    I restart the computer... no problem, I can logon and so on...

    I install ESS 4.2.40, make updates... no problem.

    I restart the computer and have again the progress bar... and nothing else...
    I cannot logon! I let the progress bar during 5 to 10 minutes... still the progress bar...

    I restart in safe mode, uninstall ESS and restart again... NO PROBLEM! I can start again! Work again!

    Now I don't know what to do...

    Seb.
     
  21. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    First of all, we'd need to get a kernel or better complete memory dump from the moment the system seems to have frozen.

    You can try to work around the problem by:
    - installing the latest v 4.0
    - disabling startup scans
    - disabling anti-stealth and (or) self-defense

    I'm not sure if any of the above will help but I assume it could if there's a mutual interference with another piece of software or driver. The dump would most likely reveal the source of the problem, however.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.