Echo Wrkstation & Uni Restore won't work on New Laptop

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by DMitch, Feb 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DMitch

    DMitch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    26
    I have tried and tried...have talked and talked w/Acronis Tech support and have yet to solve my problem. PLEASE HELP...SOMEBODY?!

    I am going from not so old Dell Lat D820 to New Dell D830. Both XP Pro and both 120gb, different video card and processor. after I restore and when computer starts to load Windows...the dreaded blue screen and I keep getting the following error message

    Check for viruses on your computer. Remove any newly install HD or hard drive controllers. Check your HD to make certain it is propely configured and terminated. Run CHKDSK/F to check for HD corruption and then restart you computer 0x0000007B (0xBA4CB524, 0xc0000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)

    The Acronis Tech states the computer needs the drivers. He sent me the drivers from Dell site and still had the same error. Then he suggested I call dell for the drivers...somthing about a SATA Controller. Well the Dell REp sent me the exact same driver and still getting same error.

    I have tried 7 different times today and not able to make any headway. The Acronis Rep keeps telling me I need drivers but can't seem to tell me anything else.

    I am at wits end. Beginning to think I just send the New laptop back and keep old one. Would PCMover be better in my case? Anyone got any idea?
    About to ask for refund and foget the whole thing. :mad: :'(
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Does the D830 BIOS have an option to run the SATA controller in an "IDE Compatible" mode? If so, does restoring in that mode make a difference? You could then install the "enhanced" driver once XP is running and swith the BIOS setting back.

    I assume the D830 was properly booting XP. Are the drivers you're trying to use the exact same drivers that were installed in the system when you got it?
     
  3. DMitch

    DMitch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    26
    MudCrab...thanks for your input!
    I wish I could answer the questions you posed but quite frankly, i'm not tech savvy enough to understand what you are asking and how I would go about to find out the answers for you.

    Today, Acronis rep asked me to download some ISO bootable drive and a long list of very technical jargons that I have no clue about. I assumed that the Echo Station & the Universal Restore was pretty seamless and easy :argh:

    I can't believe how people upgrade from one computer to another...it's a nightmare for an "average joe" like myself. Must be an easier way?!?!

    I'll see what happens w/this latest advice from Acronis and report back :doubt:

    Regarding the latest driver question...both acronis rep & dell rep sent me the exact same driver so i'm-a-guessin that it's the latest. if there was a way to use the drivers on the disk dell sent me i'm "thinkin" it may solve the problem but who knows
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2008
  4. Slaycock

    Slaycock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    I recently did a successful reinstall moving from an intel P35 system to an AMD socket 754 via chipset. To get this to work correctly I had to open the setup.exe programs to extract the driver files. Once I had directories in which the inf files were visible the resore worked fine.

    Just to be clear, the drivers were provided as a setup.exe file. To get universal restore to work correctly I had to open the setup.exe files using 7-zip, extract the relevant XP directories, and then make sure the universal restore was pointed to the extracted directories so I could guarantee that the inf files were found.

    Regards

    Steve
     
  5. DMitch

    DMitch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    26
    Hey Slaycock...

    I did a seach for setup.exe and it pulled up these drivers

    c:\drivers\input\R153769
    c:\drivers\modem\R167368
    c:\drivers\security\R173506
    c:\drivers\video\R15736

    Is this what I am looking for?
    All these drivers?

    And what do I do next w/this info? THANKS and THANKS!!!!
     
  6. Slaycock

    Slaycock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    Hi

    Here's a walkthrough I did for the via4in1 drivers which were provided as VIAHyperion4in1456v.exe (the drivercdrom had this file just as setup.exe however I feel this example makes it clearer). I'm assuming you have 7-zip installed (if not it can be downloaded quite easily and is freeware)

    1. right click VIAHyperion4in1456v.exe
    2. use the 7-zip option to open the archive. This gave me just a single folder with no name
    3. open folder to get a list of the sub directories
    4. identify the folders needed (open eqach one to check it contains an inf file)
    5. drag these folder to a drive that is visible when booting from the acronis workstation echo revovery disk with univeral restore
    6. boot the target computer using the above restore disk
    7. select source and target file etc
    8. select to use universal restore
    9. at the second add drivers page select the add driver button then select one of the directories you previously copied to the drive that is visible during the restore procss.
    10 repeat 9 for each of the directories you originally copied.
    11 let restore do its job
    12 don't forget to restore track 0/mbr. this has to run as a sequential backup task but if you don't do this you can't boot your restored disc.


    Its also helpful to check that you actually have a partition to restore to on your target drive. I had the error message you reported above a couple of time until I remembered that I had wiped the target disc to remove the Freenas partition from a previous 'experiment'

    I hope this helps

    Regards

    Steve
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.