eboostr

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Perman, Jun 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi, folks: sorry the correct name is eboostr, not eboostre

    Just installed this baby, being tested it for the last week.
    It makes system flying, no BSOD, no crashes so far.

    Worth exploring. Any feedback here are welcomed.
    link: www.eboostr.com/
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2008
  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Re: eboostre

    Hello,
    Your hard disk is much much faster than any flash drive currently in use.
    And any memory / whatever optimizer is a myth, as long as it's not incorporated on kernel level - which these things are not! - and contrary to laws of physics.
    Mrk
     
  3. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Re: eboostre

    Yep even readyboost itself doesn't add much unless your computer is rather ram starved.
     
  4. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Re: eboostre

    Sounds a bit similar to the free Process Lassoo.
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,048
    I put it on my machine for grins. I saw no gain at all of any kind. Not surprised though.
     
  6. Az7

    Az7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Posts:
    139
    :thumb: It is very good.

    eBoostr is a (cache filter). You can use flash drives, hard disks, ram disks, etc.. even you can use additional RAM as boosting media (cache) and the contents of this RAM disk (created by eBoostr) saved automatically as a disk image when the computer is shutdown.. Nice idea!.

    Also you can use it as Parallel caching filter, up to 4 media (HDs, external HDs.., flash drives.., etc..) -limited to 1 drive in VISTA's ReadyBoost-

    Currently I am using 2 external HDs as caching media (cache size : 16GB on each HD). You can say it is working and acting as RAID0 config.

    I give it 8/10.:thumb:

    new-2.jpg
     
  7. Birdman

    Birdman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Posts:
    571
    I have 768 MB of RAM on my XP system. Will eboostr work as intended or does it require more RAM to work properly?

    Also what should I set the "System Memory" cache to?

    Az7....I noticed you excluded the ISR folder. I also have and use FD-ISR. Is it recommended to exclude that folder?
     
  8. Az7

    Az7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Posts:
    139
    Birdman, set it to the min. 256 MB (RAM),.. Flash drive instead ?...
    $ISR folder isn't important,.. so , it is excluded to save some MBs..
     
  9. Birdman

    Birdman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Posts:
    571
    What do you mean by Flash Drive instead?

    You mean use the Eboostr Lite version and run it off a Flash Drive?

    I noticed 4 different versions of the program (Pro, Laptop, Desktop and Lite).

    Thanks.
     
  10. Az7

    Az7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Posts:
    139
    768 MB isn't enough for internal memory caching, I think. My advice is to use Flash drive or external disk for caching instead of using system memory.
     
  11. Birdman

    Birdman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Posts:
    571
    I have a 512 MB Flash drive/mem stick available. Will this work and is it large enough to see a significant improvement?

    In this case, should I go with the eBoostr LITE version instead of the PRO?

    http://www.eboostr.com/order/

    Also, does anyonme know how this app compares w/ CachemanXP?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.