EAV ver 5 locks up computer

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Pete999, Sep 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pete999

    Pete999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    One of the main reasons I switched to EAV -- and recommend it in the Microsoft Answers forums -- is because it has a much lighter impact on computers. Or at least it did, until I installed version 5.

    I have NOD32 a/v ver. 5.0.93.0 installed on a Win XP Pro sp3 box. It is an old machine (Pentium 4 2.6 GHz with 2.0 GB RAM), but with EAV v. 4, it worked fine.

    I have no other active anti-malware applications running (other than the Windows firewall).

    Now at various times (I haven't figured out the pattern yet) egui.exe grabs 99% CPU and won't let go unless I manually stop the application. It does this with the UI not displayed, although "Eset NOD32 Antivirus" appears in the "Applications" tab of Task Manager.

    When I use Task Manager to "End Task" and then re-start EAV, egui.exe drops down to 0%.

    I initially thought that this might have something to do with Live Grid, so I turned that off, but the lock-up still happens. I was under the impression that the scanner itself was ekrn.exe. If that's correct, it's not stuck on doing a scan (and in any case, the icon animation isn't running).

    Why does egui.exe take up so much resources? Can I go back to version 4 until this behavior is corrected? If so, what's the procedure for re-installing version 4?
     
  2. cozumel

    cozumel Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Posts:
    260
    Location:
    London, UK
    Hi Pete!

    Did you install over the top of v4 or did you install v5 after first uninstalling v4 and removing remnants?

    I'm currently running v5 xpx86 sp3 without problems.
     
  3. Pete999

    Pete999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    I installed over top of v. 4.

    I do have an external (USB) drive connected and I've seem some posts that speculate that that might have something to do with the problem.
     
  4. tony_m

    tony_m Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Posts:
    239
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    In that case I'd expect ekrn.exe to spike up the cpu rather than egui.exe. If you open the main setup and navigate to Computer -> Removable media, does it make a difference if you uncheck the "Action to take after inserting removable media" check box?
     
  6. GreenWhite

    GreenWhite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    110
    Just to chip in,

    I have the same problem. Locks up truecrypt mount and external hd in xp with EAV 5 (XP SP3) installed.

    Connected external hd before boot and it mounted fine. Truecrypt mount still NO go because it was done after the XP SP3 boot with all of EAV drivers loaded.

    Having disabled everything didn't do any good. Uncheck "action to take -removable media" didn't do any good. In all instances, I had to hard reset the PC.
     
  7. Pete999

    Pete999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    Tony_m,

    I successfully uninstalled v. 5 (the folders listed on the uninstall direction page were removed by the uninstaller; my username/password also was removed, so I entered them manually on the reinstall).

    During the install, you are presented with two options. I left them as presented: connected to Live Grid but no to the other choice (that was something about detecting attempted installs that normally need a user OK -- where is that in Advanced Setup?).

    As I wrote in my original message, the lockup does not happen all the time and I don't know what precipitates it. If it happens again, what diagnostic information can I provide in order to help figure out what's going on?
     
  8. Pete999

    Pete999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    Well, it happened again, so doing a "clean" install of ver. 5 is not the answer.

    It appeared to be related to connecting a USB-connected multi-format card reader with 4 slots, with only one of the slots occupied with an SD card.

    I thought that perhaps because I had "show scan options" selected for what to do upon insertion of removable media, the GUI was "confused" when Windows reported that 4 new "drives" had been attached but only one of them had media inserted. Unfortunately, I haven't been able to reproduce the lockup behavior be connecting and disconnecting the card reader.

    This time, I checked the box on the "new device detected" popup to always do the same thing and then clicked "scan later," which appeared to have the affect of UNchecking the box in the configuration menu next to "Action to take after inserting removable media."

    ************************

    Here's another possible clue. After I stopped and restarted egui.exe using Task Manager, I connected another computer to my LAN and shared its drive. egui.exe locked up. Interestingly, however, the instance of egui.exe that was using 99% CPU was in a "disconnected" user account. That is, I have XP Pro with "Fast User Switching" turned on. I normally boot up the computer and go to account A, which is when NOD32 does its startup scan. I switched to account B to connect the LAN computer and the egui.exe running in account A locked up. Perhaps your engineers could look into the interaction between egui and XP's Fast User Switching mechanism.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2011
  9. MBanner

    MBanner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    I've got the same problem -- version 5 -- computer locking up. 100% CPU usage and taskmanager showing equi hogging all the resources.

    I have Windows XP svc pk 3; I do have a d-link 7 hub usb and I don't scan the travel drive I put in at times.

    I've had eset for a little over a week, new install--not an upgrade--and this has happened about 3 times now. Not happy.
     
  10. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    i have NOD32 v5 beta/RC/final install here in an old Celeron 2.4 Ghz, only 1 Go memory and never had problem
     
  11. dwomack

    dwomack Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    588
    The issue with version 5.0 causing a lockup of the system when external hard drives are plugged in, is a known issue and our developers are currently working on a fix for this. Until this fix is released, it may require running version 4.2. Unless someone else has a possible work around other than shutting down the system, plugging in the hard drive and rebooting?
     
  12. Pete999

    Pete999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    Thanks for the update. I hope they come up with a fix soon.
     
  13. billegate

    billegate Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    It ia a pity to hear from ESET that their product is not ready. I can understand when it is a small problem but here I spent several days to find that my PC problems came from Nod 32 ,I was almost ready to go to a repair shop.a USB compatibility should be one of the first thing to check by ESET. My opinion on Eset product has been very damaged (like my PC). As I mention in another post It was not evident to find that this problem came from nod 32 especially when you dont use external drive during several days. I have got everything like reboot during windows loading, blue screen with :cause by following module ntoskrnl.exe. I can imagine the déception of people who are not informed in details about PC.
    The installation of the new version is also a problem: when you receive message saying that you are not allowed to stop services...and forced to uninstall nod 32 by special uninstaller.
     
  14. tommy456

    tommy456 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Posts:
    137
    I too get this cpu hogging/spiking with ESS v5 93.94. &95 more so with win7 sp1, x86, when idle it will spike upto 70% at times, makes online gaming impossible as causes mouse movements to stop start ,and the games graphics and sound to, as the game uses 50-80% i have tried hips disabled, real time protection disabled, even excluded the whole program files directory from real time scanning, all made no or little difference, it still will cause both cores to peak at 100% causing the intermittent lock ups, at the moment ekrne.exe is working overtime it needs to relax a little
     
  15. Pete999

    Pete999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    I'm sorry to hear that v.5 is still having problems, although I haven't experienced the lockup since I did the complete uninstall/reinstall. Then again, I haven't connected an external and/or shared drive, either.

    It's not clear what version Tommy456 is referencing -- perhaps ESS uses a different versioning system from EAV. My problems were with EAV 5.0.93.0. I just installed the current version 5.0.94.0 on one XP box and I'll see what happens.

    Also, the problem that I had (and I think that others earlier in this thread had) was that the GUI (egui.exe) was grabbing the CPU -- not the scanner (ekrn.exe). Tommy456: if your lockup is caused by the scanner, you probably should start a new thread -- and you might want to check out the logs.
     
  16. billegate

    billegate Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Sorry to say that V5.95 does not solve my problem still freezing computer when you add externel hard drive (XP) back again to v4
     
  17. JohnMirror

    JohnMirror Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Hi.
    It seems that the problem still exists. I just used my 29 into 1 card reader/writer and some time later I noticed that my computer is slow (egui.exe is taking one of my processors, the interface doesn't work properly).
    For now I'm evaluating Eset Nod32 5.0.95.0.
    Is there any fix?
    Thank you.

    Regards, John
     
  18. JohnMirror

    JohnMirror Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Well, I bought it.
    Lately I noticed the same problem with the same version but without using any USB storage devices.
    Just now, in this moment when I write, one of the 2 processors is at 100% with egui.exe.
    I can't restart the computer every time this happens, I can't use EndTask to kill it, so what can I do?

    Regards, John
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.