EAV 4.2 BE: cannot disable real-time protection using client menu

Discussion in 'ESET Server & Remote Administrator' started by Reedmikel, Jan 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Reedmikel

Reedmikel Registered Member

Hi,

As an ESET newbie, I must be doing something incorrectly, as I cannot seem to "disable real-time file system protection" using the ESET icon in system tray (XP Prof, SP3). It prompts me for the password (I did configure one in ERAC), and it accepts my password. But there is no sign that it is getting disabled (e.g. right-click and choose Open Window, and Protection Status still shows check marks next to Antivirus and Antispyware protection). Likewise, if I click on the Setup page (left pane), it also has a green checkmark next to "Real-time file system protection".

Update: I think I know what the issue might be. I am able to disable real-time file protection *only* on machines where the current logged in user has local admin rights. Any machine (XP is all I have tested so far) where the current user does not have local admin rights, does not seem to allow me to disable realtime protection... No error or warning message, it simply does not disable protection...

This is potentially a huge issue for me, as there are times a user will need to disable protection...

Any ideas?

Thanks,
    -Mike

2. Reedmikel

I was talking with an ESET tech yesterday about a whole bunch of newbie questions, and brought up this issue. He said he thinks it was designed this way - that you have to be an administrator of that computer in order to be able to disable real-time file protection.