EA Defination conflict

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by Najmi, Aug 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Najmi

    Najmi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Posts:
    36
    Hi I am using NOD 32 Beta 2 on a windows server 2003 enterprise edition and i noticed a very weird thing today. when you open teh nod 32 by dbl clicking on teh taskbar icon it shows me that it has the latest definations and i confirmed it. but when you goto to Computer Scan it shows me that the definations used are 2482 o_O?? whats this all about. I am including the screen shots for you to have a look.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. dormix

    dormix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    Center of Italy
    The same here.
    Windows VISTA 32b
     
  3. Najmi

    Najmi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Posts:
    36
    hmmm now my question is which one is rite and which definations are used to scan?
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    Couldn't it be that you ran a scan with version 2482 and during the scan EAV updated to v. 2492? This would explain it.
     
  5. Najmi

    Najmi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Posts:
    36
    no Mracos i did not run the scan while the update. i ran the scan when the update was over. and it is still showing the same. if you want i will attach the new screen shots.

    Please sort this is out as this could be treated as a major bug if the defs used for scanning are old while the rt scanner has new it could be disasterous
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2007
  6. dormix

    dormix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    Center of Italy
    Resolved for me.
    Now, after the next update, it seems all regular.

    Version virus signature database: 2493 (20070831) in both the section
     
  7. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

    same problem here: protection status page shows version 2493.
    computer scan page shows version 2492.

    edit: after rebooting both show same version
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 31, 2007
  8. crummock

    crummock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    198
    I also have this issue.

    On my XP machine the scan page shows version 2490. Eveywhere eslse shoes 2494.

    On my Vista machine the scan page shows version 2485 but 2494 everywhere else.

    Both machines have been rebooted several times since the previous updates.
     
  9. dormix

    dormix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    Center of Italy
    Try to end ' egui.exe ' from TaskManager and after restart it from start/all programs/eset/eset smart security.

    You will see that the GUI will refresh and will show the same update signature in both section. I found others issue about GUI refresh as moving the TaskManager window on the ESS context scan window and see the windows inscription disappear but I think this doesn't afflict the principal function for which ESS has been built
     
  10. crummock

    crummock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    198
    Ending and restarting the egui makes no difference. They are still wrong.

    I didn't expect it to work as the PC's have been rebooted a number of times anyway.
     
  11. dormix

    dormix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    Center of Italy
    I'm sure that it is a good thing that we say our impression and experience about a beta version. Maybe we shall be happy when we shall see resolved the problem, that we indicate, in the release version.
     
  12. crummock

    crummock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    198
    Well I've looked at this issue again and for me I think ESS is correct and I have misunderstood.

    It seems that the definition version shown on the scan page refers to the version of definitions that existed when teh last scan was run.

    This certainly is the case for me on all 3 of my machines.
     
  13. MovchanAV

    MovchanAV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Norilsk, Russia
    May be label in "Computer Scan" screen should be changed to something more appropriate, like "Version of virus database used during last scan"?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.