"E0004000A" or ".tib not valid" errors over shared USB drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by werzeri, Mar 7, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. werzeri

    werzeri Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    I try to create an image with TI8 build 796 overa shared drive on the network, I get these two kind of error messages:
    - error box stating "E0004000A: Error creating the file"
    - error box claiming ".tib file is not a valid True Image file".

    The share is on a USB drive plugged into a XP Pro SP2 machine. The share is accessible from all others computers & it likely isn't a rights issue as I can read/write to this share from any other computer.

    I've have read from another post upgrade to latest build fixed the issue.

    As I currently using latest build (i;e 796), sounds it does not apply for me even if symptoms are identical.

    Help greatly appreciated !
     
  2. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Latest build for TI 8/TI 8 Server is now 800.

    Regards
     
  3. werzeri

    werzeri Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks for advice however I updated to build 800 but it did not fix my problem.

    Some additionnal info to help focus root cause:
    - Initially TI was not able to acess shared drive because of to a low registry value (IrpStackSize) setting. Now it's set to the max allowable value.
    - Even if I'm not able to create an image on a remote drive, I still able to read a remote image from drive. (I did not want to check if restore was OK!)

    regards.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello werzeri,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    We are really sorry for the inconveniences.

    Could you please create the screenshots of all your actions in wizard and the error you get and send it to support@acronis.com along with the link to this thread? We will certainly help you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  5. werzeri

    werzeri Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Hi,
    Thanks for you support proposal, however, I do not see any need to hardcopy some screen dumps as sounds to me I am not the only one having this problem. Look at following threads:
    1) https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=68642
    2) https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=60525

    These threads report identical symptoms as I have.

    Initially, I was not able to assess remote drive because of low IrpStacksize registry setting. I'm now able from within XP but not from within TI8.
    And latest build does not help !

    BTW:

    a) I set the whole remote drive as shareable: would it be better to only set some folder as shareable ?
    b) sounds that arise with some (all) USB drives ? right ?
    c) I will forward to support as well...
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello werzeri,

    The threads you found concern different problems and the solution proposed there (via forum posts or via e-mail from Acronis Support Team) will not suit you. Please forward the screenshots I mentioned above to support@acronis.com. We will investigate the problem and help you with the solution. If you do not receive any response from Acronis Support Team within 48 hours please let me know your Acronis Request # which will be sent to you in autoreply.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  7. werzeri

    werzeri Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks for feedback !
    Yet in the process to help myself -and sounds to me- a succesfull way:

    => I currently changed the way I shared the remote drive:
    - instead to set the drive as shared, I created a subdirectory and set it
    as shared

    ...sound it helped to move forward.

    However I did not yet perfoem a full backup...
    Trying these evening (france time).


    Obviouly I will get you posted.
    Have a nice day...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.