E00040007: Error opening the file

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by IS200, Jan 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. IS200

    IS200 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    pc repair dublin
    Please insert the last media of the archive and click Retry to continue. Otherwise click Cancel to stop the operation.

    After using about 7 DVD-R's, I got this error message.

    I was backing up my entire computer to DVD.

    What's causing this problem? Googling wasn't helpful.

    Product: ATI v10

    It's clear from the logs, the product attempted to lock the C drive.

    While backing up, I continued to surf.

    ~Link to rogue site and off topic comments removed - Ron~
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 9, 2007
  2. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Burning direct to DVD/CD seems to be a little troublesome especially the validation process which is what your seeing. Validation is on by default. A better approach is to use TI to break the backup into DVD/CD sized chunks and then use Nero or your favorite burning sw to put it on DVD/CD. I prefer to backup directly to an external hard drive.
     
  3. IS200

    IS200 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    pc repair dublin
    @thomasjk

    That's what I've done, but thanks for the suggestion.

    I was wondering if those tib files are bootable,
    so I took the first one, burned it to DVD and sure enough it booted.

    However, I didn't follow through on the recovery as I'd only burned one disk.

    I also noted that the descriptive text that displays when Acronis recovery options are chosen, isn't visible to the user as it runs off the text area, that should be fixed.

    Anways, back to my problems...
    If I burn those (seven) tibs to DVD, just are regular data files (no fancy Nero bootable this, that, and the other) the recovery should work fine?

    I'll dl vmware, and test the recovery operation, before I put faith into this product.

    Thanks
    IS
     
  4. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Let me suggest you test the recovery by actually performing a restore. This way you will know for sure that it actually works.
     
  5. IS200

    IS200 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    pc repair dublin
    But if I try and perform a recovery and it fails, won't that mess up my computer? or does it fail early? before it states to obliterate my drive with the restored data?

    I thought that if I used vmware, that would be the safer method of testing a restore.
     
  6. IS200

    IS200 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    pc repair dublin
    bump!
     
  7. IS200

    IS200 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    pc repair dublin
    dump!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.