E000101F4 FOR TRUE IMAGE AND DISK DIRECTOR AFTER WINDOWS UPDATES

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by EdinBrighton, Jan 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EdinBrighton

    EdinBrighton Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    1/13/2008 12:09:37 PM

    Hi,

    I used True Image Home 10 before significant computer updates.

    I have used it and Disk Director for over a year happily.

    The day before updating, 12-27-07 I did a My Computer backup of my boot drive and my virtual drives (created by Disk Director). No problem.

    The next day I updated my laptop with XP Media Center 2002 to the 2005 version, then got all new updates from Microsoft.

    Now just to bring up an instance of TI 10 I get:

    E000101F4: Acronis True Image Home has not found any hard disk drives

    .... right after the App opens. Same thing with DiskDirector.
    Try to choose backup or Start Up Manager, same message.

    Funny thing (without opening the App, I can sucessfully mount a *.tib file! By rt clicking and choosing Mount etc all as usual.

    My Error has nothing to do with trying to restore, or booting up off rescue media.

    Acronis is NOT seeing my physical bood drive or any of Disk Director's Virtuals.

    I have Uninstalled the app, and Reinstalled it (using build 4942).

    Wow -- what a drag. :p

    Dreaming there is some simple solution. I am getting the impression that this error is rampant, and I suspect has many different origins.

    I also suspect it has to do with Updates that confuse Acronis and DD.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks, Ed o_O
     
  2. sparkymachine

    sparkymachine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    Location:
    East Lancashire, UK
    I don't know anything at all about media center stuff but have you checked that the TI10 services are running and that the TI programs are running, as in TrueImageMonitor. I expect Timountermonitor is running as you can still mount images but check that too. If thats not it then I don't know unless Media Centre has changed drive letters.
     
  3. EdinBrighton

    EdinBrighton Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Hi,

    Well I see both TrueImageMonitor, and Timountermonitor running. Anything else I should look for?

    This error of not seeing the drives is all over the forums and just rampant!

    It could have been a recent XP security update.

    I have a support ticket in.

    I see no solutions anywhere (or possible explanations) except a few suggestions -if you are restoring.

    Boy if you have this error message when you're computer is goofed already ..... You have trouble on top of trouble ! I feel sorry for those people!

    -- Ed
     
  4. sparkymachine

    sparkymachine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    Location:
    East Lancashire, UK
    The other processes TI likes to have are the schedhlp service and TrueImageTryStartService on my pc, check to see if the first one is enabled and everything.

    Nothing else comes to mind but i'll keep thinking on it.
     
  5. EdinBrighton

    EdinBrighton Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    1/14/2008 5:49:23 PM


    Well:

    TrueImageTryStartService is not running, but it may not be important.

    If I get some answers eventually thru a support ticket I'll post here but I imagine I will be lucky to have an answer within a week!.

    Thanks for your thoughts,

    Ed in Brighton, Illinois USA :thumb:
     
  6. sparkymachine

    sparkymachine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    Location:
    East Lancashire, UK
    Hi Ed, no that won't matter.

    Hope it gets sorted soon my friend, and if anything comes to mind or I find anything to be of help i'll let you know.:)
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup software

    The reason of this issue is simple - Acronis drivers were replaced by Microsoft drivers during update operation. It very easy to fix the issue by downloading and installing the latest version of Acronis drivers.

    Thank you.
    --
    Michael Levchenko
     
  8. EdinBrighton

    EdinBrighton Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Posts:
    10

    1/16/2008 10:49:27 AM

    Hi Michael,

    Let me shake your hand!

    Well thank you very much. Now my problem description is posted, and the solution can be read by all.

    I may refer to this thread in the Disk Director Forum.

    I have verified that it works.

    But here is some Feedback. Upon re-boot, at the password entry point:
    my laptop stopped (I assume windows files were being worked on) but the laptop never moved on and loaded personal settings.

    From the loggon window I had to do a re-start (which did work).

    Acronis now sees the drives and all is well.

    Take care Michael ! , - Ed I would buy you a beer but you are too far away. :cool: :cool: :cool: :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.