E-mail notification with Yahoo mail

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mathguy07, Apr 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mathguy07

    mathguy07 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Newark, CA
    Is it a given that e-mail notification cannot be made to work with Yahoo mail? I read all pertinent posts tonight about e-mail notification, and never got it to work, trying user name and password or not, brackets around the e-mail address or not, outgoing server port 25 or 465, deleting the notification.config file, and even disabling my zone alarm firewall, all to no avail.

    Any ideas on how to get this to work? Very frustrating.
     
  2. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
  3. mathguy07

    mathguy07 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Newark, CA
    Good point.

    However, I should have mentioned that the failure is simply trying to do a test e-mail... There is a tiny burst of data just as you hit send, then it just times out with an error message.
     
  4. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Hopefully my link (above) will shed more light. Also, check the other links mentioned inside the original link.
     
  5. mathguy07

    mathguy07 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Newark, CA
    Well, I read every relevant post here, and tried everything, all to no avail. Either this function doesn't work properly, or just doesn't work with Yahoo mail.

    I guess I will submit the question to Acronis support.
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello mathguy07,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please try using e-mail address on a different hosting (redirect from it to your Yahoo address if necessary). If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create a screenshot of the Acronis True Image window where you enter e-mail settings.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  7. Steve1209

    Steve1209 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Hi mathguy07,

    Acronis support does not understand the E-MAIL problem yet unfortunately! Under TI 10 Build 4942 you can NOT use any of web based E-MAILS (Hotmail, Yahoo or GMAIL come to mind there are others). I finally got my ISP COMCAST.NET to work but needed to add this:
    < MyUserID@Comcast.net>

    Support is NOT helpful on this problem!

    Steve
    Notice the RED < & >
     
  8. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Webmail runs over HTTP, using proprietary dialogues.
    TI uses SMTP. It assumes that your sending email server is SMTP.

    It is a bit like trying to plug your gas cooker into an electric cooker point :)

    F.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.