Dynamic Security Agent anamolies?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Drew99GT, Aug 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Drew99GT

    Drew99GT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    338
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    I'm using DSA again, and it's doing the things it did that prompted me to get rid of it. Occasionally, when I allow processes (and click remember so it's permanent), they disappear out of the process list. Also, it's prompting me for things already in the safe process list and creating multiple entries. Anyone know what up wit thato_O

    Also, what happens when the training period is over? I say that because even during training, it's prompting me for things. I thought it would just build a list of every process it sees during training and consider them safe, and not prompt you during training?
     
  2. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    DSA has 4 check boxes titled "Require user approval for each alert." Uncheck them & alerts will cease.
     
  3. Drew99GT

    Drew99GT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    338
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    That does nothing. This thing is a useless piece of crap! After the training period, it's not prompting me for a few new applications I open, they just go right on through. And it's not remembering approvals; heck, for one application, there is 3 of the same thing in the process list!
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2007
  4. Arup

    Arup Guest

    When I first tried DSA on 2K, it hosed my system just as CH did, two apps I stay far away from, PS works good for me.
     
  5. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi, folks: Is DSA a component of their firewall? I just wonder how reliable is that fw ? DSA needs an urgent up-keep, IMO. My experiences are not much different from Drew99GT's.
     
  6. Drew99GT

    Drew99GT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    338
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    So you had the same issues Perman?

    Based on the experience I've had, I don't trust it or private firewall at all! Granted, DSA is easy to use, but it's obviously not working properly on my machine.
     
  7. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi, folks: Yap. I had two of your problems; not remembering approvals and multiple listing of same process. DSA has not been looked after or maintained for a good some time (over one year?), anything more than 6 months sitting idle in this competitive sector is a killer, a no-no.
     
  8. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Same here when I looked at it, DSA had problems remembering and items not going into the list.
     
  9. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    DSA worked fine in a VM here so decided to try it on the real system.

    None of my virtual machines could connect to the net with DSA active on the real system with no pop ups or warnings.

    Disabled DSA and the vm's could connect.

    I emailed the developers about this.

    They replied they were aware of the prob and were working on it.

    This was a couple of months ago.
     
  10. glentrino2duo

    glentrino2duo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Posts:
    310
    ..and uninstalling DSA is not a smooth task in my case...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.