dyfuca

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by diablo, Apr 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. diablo

    diablo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Posts:
    11
    i ran a scan on pandasoftware and came up with dyfuca infection somewhere in the registry.. thats all the free scan told me . i tried all cwshredder, sybot, adaware,spy sweeper, norton and wouldnt clean it. it still shows up on pandasoftware, what else can i do.. i tried to post on spyware and adaware but it wouldnt let me access it .....
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi Diablo, since you are using Norton, there is more information here.

    Hope this help...

    Let us know how you go.

    Cheers :D
     
  3. INTOXSICKATED

    INTOXSICKATED Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Posts:
    485
    Location:
    Suburbia Hell
    somebody else had a dyfuca problem as well just recently.
     
  4. diablo

    diablo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Posts:
    11
    i ran the removal tool from norton and showed nothing but it keeps showing up on the pandasoftware freescan online.

    after reading some info, dyfuca goes by another name "internet Optimizer", so i ran a find, search in the registry using internet optimizer and found a total of two internet optimizers which i deleted both and the infection didnt show up a new pandasoftware scan...

    whether its a false positive that i dont know, it could have been web accelerator software that i had on my hard drive
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2005
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Have you tried a scan in Safe Mode as described in General Cleaning?

    Cheers :D
     
  6. INTOXSICKATED

    INTOXSICKATED Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Posts:
    485
    Location:
    Suburbia Hell
    have you tried to manually remove it?

    Manual removal
    Please follow the instructions below if you would like to remove DyFuCA manually. Please notice that you must follow the instructions very carefully and delete everything that is mentioned. In most cases the removal will fail if one single item is not deleted. If DyFuCA remains on your system after stepping through the removal instructions, please double-check by stepping through them again.

    1. Start the registry editor. This is done by clicking Start then Run. (The Run dialog will appear.) Type regedit and click OK. (The registry editor will open.)
    2. Delete HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ SOFTWARE \ Classes \ CLSID \ {8F4E5661-F99E-4B3E-8D85-0EA71C0748E4}, if it exists.
    3. Delete 'HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ SOFTWARE \ Microsoft \ Windows \ CurrentVersion \ Explorer \ Browser Helper Objects \ {8F4E5661-F99E-4B3E-8D85-0EA71C0748E4}, if it exists.
    4. Exit the registry editor.
    5. Restart your computer.
    6. Delete Wsem*.dll, where * represents 3 random digits.
    7. Delete "c:\Programs Files\dialers\".

    bazooka instuctions
     
  7. Primrose

    Primrose Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,743
  8. Whodart

    Whodart Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Re: dyfuca removal

    http://www3.ca.com/securityadvisor/pest/pest.aspx?id=453076438

    Go to this page, will show you step-by-step how to remove it.
    AOL spyware found it for me today, luckily before it had a chance
    to install all the associated programs. Another idea is to have
    your phone company block 900 dialing if you are on dialup. ;)

    Whodart
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2005
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.