DW FW + Win 7 FW?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by ams963, Jul 1, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Hi,

    Can I use DefenseWall Firewall and Win 7 FW at the same time?

    Best Wishes,
    Amit
     
  2. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    Yes you can.
    DW Firewall plays nice with probably all software firewalls on the market right now.
     
  3. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    There's DW Firewall + HIPS, and DW HIPS. I can see how DW HIPS would work with other firewalls, but how would DW Firewall + HIPS work with other firewalls?
     
  4. Windows_Security

    Windows_Security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    3,082
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Have not used DW for a few years, but I this is how it runs on my mother's laptop for years:

    1. Use Windows FW for inbound
    2. Use DW Fw to monitor outbound only (somewhere in the FW settings of DW or maybe even in right click icon menu)

    My mother will be 80 this november, she does know nothing about security and I have never heard of any problems, but Windows FW monitoring and filtering inbound traffic and DW controlling aps going outbound there should be no overlap.
     
  5. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    But do they not overlap? I mean Win 7 fw or third party fw has features and DW FW also has firewall features. They would do the same thing, monitoring ports, connections etc. right?
     
  6. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Thanks for sharing you experience. :)
     
  7. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    Right and wrong. Those programs monitoring connections in different manner. So, there is no problems with using them together whatever.
     
  8. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    Hi Ilya,

    There isn't a recent general DW thread, so now that you're here, even though the "You steal music I lock your pc" BIOS ransomware may be a hoax, I have never seen the ability to block writing to BIOS in various HIPS. Does Defensewall block access to BIOS?
     
  9. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    So you're saying because DW FW and Win 7 FW monitor and protect connections in different ways, they although overlap in core FW features, they actually complement each other and form double protection for a user?
     
  10. MyBlackBox

    MyBlackBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    Italy
    Win 7 FW for inbound connections acts on the kernel level, while Defensewall for outbound uses it's own service and system driver.

    They never overlap.

    It doesn't load before the system, so the answer is no.
     
  11. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Oh I see. What about Win 7 FW for outbound connections and DW FW for inbound connection?
     
  12. MyBlackBox

    MyBlackBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    Italy
    You will double your shields, for a little more CPU usage by Defensewall, nothing big if you aren't runnig P2P clients.
     
  13. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,915
    I would have both DWFW and Win FW/or any other FW fully enabled.
     
  14. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    That's what I like. Double protection without conflicts and overlapping.:D Thanks.:)

    You mean CPU usage increases using DW FW? Hmm.....is it a common prob? Has this been addressed?
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2013
  15. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    You need to install a driver that can work with BIOS in order to manipulate it (there is no access to processor's ports for a regular processes due to x86 architecture restrictions) or to modify certain system's areas. DW do not allow untrusted to install drivers and modify those areas, so, the answer is "yes, but indirectly".
     
  16. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    Yes, that's correct statement.
     
  17. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    Malware need to get access to certain system areas to be loaded before system, DW blocks this for untrusted.
     
  18. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Thanks:thumb: for the confirmation Ilya.
     
  19. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    Thanks for the explanation.
     
  20. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Thanks.:thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.