DVD writing problem

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Decapad, Jan 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Decapad

Decapad Registered Member

o_O Hi - I posted earlier because my Nero 7 program stopped writing to DVD & I asked for some other alternative writing programs. I was suggested 2 others & they don't work either - same exact problem as with the Nero. The file I want to burn fills the cache, starts the buffer process - but within 15 seconds of the actual burning - I always get a "burn failed" message & the DVD ejects. I'm a little new to this DVD writing thing & boy am I off to a bumpy start!!! Please let me know what I should try, huge thanks! Deca

2. Menorcaman

Menorcaman Retired Moderator

Hello Deca,

Need some more details I'm afraid. Which Nero function are you attempting to use (e.g. DVD Copy, DVD-ROM (ISO) compilation, DVD-ROM (UDF) compilation, DVD Video compilation, etc.) or are you trying to drag-and drop files onto DVD? Also what type of DVD media are you using - DVD+/-RW, DVD+/-R (single or dual layer), or DVD-RAM?

Regards

3. Decapad

Hi Menorcaman - how you doin'? It was working OK for a few weeks using Nero 7 Express, by dragging & dropping the decrypted file from either DVD Fab or IMGBurn on DVD-R single layer media. That's the only thing I need to use. So i thought just the Nero went bad - but I tried HT Fireman & CD Burner XP - and the same thing was going on as with the Nero. Thanks soo much! Deca :thumb:

4. Menorcaman

Menorcaman Retired Moderator

Not sure whether you are aware but Nero, by itself, doesn't support drag-and-drop file copying. You need to have Nero's InCD (or similar UDF packet writing software) installed and running in the background. In addition, the DVD media needs to be InCD (or similar) formatted before it can be used for drag-and-drop file copying. I'm not familiar with DVD Fab or IMGBurn so appologies if you already know all this :p.

Regards

5. Woody777