DVD USAGE

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by floridahawk1, Aug 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. floridahawk1

    floridahawk1 Guest

    EVERYTHING i have been able to search out reguarding dvd's is keep there size to 2 gig as this is what they hold.. my os drive image was done on 3 dvd's as i was able to put 4 gig on each one... is there another reason to holding dvd's at 2 gig.. when it comes time to do a boot cd restore will acronis be able to deal with dvd's that hold 4 gig o_O.. for some reason I have a bad feeling about these 4 gig frisbee's........ ANYBODY?

    Rum
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I can't see a problem. How did you make the DVD's? Direct from TI or did you burn the images later?

    I haven't done it but I'd expect that DVD's made direct from TI with packet writing software would be around 4 GB. They are with Ghost 9.
     
  3. FLORIDAHAWK1

    FLORIDAHAWK1 Guest

    I DID EVERYTHING within acronis. set file size to 4 gb burned on a pioneer dv-109 burner with nero 6 "in cd" latest version. no problems.. 3 4gb dvd's
    if disaster comes to having to restore an image to possibly a new replacement drive will acronis using only the boot disk for a operating environment be able to deal with a dvd image set of 3 dvd's with 4gb on each.

    FLORIDAHAWK

    oyo KT600 Dragon Ultra Platnum
    AMD XP-3200+ Barton 3200/400
    2-512 Corsair XMS 3700PT-467Mhz
    ATI 9700 pro ( O/C 375/351 stable)
    VGA Silencer Cooling,Aero 7+ CPU Cool
    Epower 450 jaguar Silent Engine pwr.supp.
    2-WD 120GB SATA, 2 IDE WD 120GB
    plex IDE cd R-RW 16/10/40,
    pioneer dvr-109 16xdvd/24/40/40
    Sony IDE R-RW DVD/ROM
    on board 6 ch sound, 1GB lan
     
  4. ratcheer

    ratcheer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Alabama, USA
    I make all of my DVD's at 4480 MB. No problems at all.

    However, I use the so-called two-step method. 1) Create image to external hard drive. 2) Use Nero to copy the image files from ext hard drive to DVD+R's.

    Tim
     
  5. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, ratcheer

    DITO with you.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Me too.
     
  7. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello FloridaHawk,

    If you created an image direct from TI to an InCD UDF formatted DVD then you didn't need to set a manual split size as TI will split it for you automatically.

    When restoring an image from multiple CDs or DVDs, insert the last disk first and then follow TI's prompts for subsequent disk changes.

    Regards
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Menorcaman,

    For my interest could you answer a question on restoring from DVD's. Say your image was on 3 DVD's, in what order would these need to be inserted?

    With Ghost 9 the order is 1 3 1 3 1 2 3 1. This must be torture for those who restore from DVD's.
     
  9. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    To be honest Brian I really don't know. I've only ever needed 2 DVDs and that required 3 disk insertions i.e. disk 2, disk 1 and then disk 2 again. Hopefully someone with a larger image file can chip in with more info.

    Regards
     
  10. storage_man

    storage_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Posts:
    91
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    When I ran a restore test from DVD's a while back, I had 4 DVD's The sequence was as follows: 4 1 2 1 3 4 1 This was a full restore of 3 partitions that originally occupied a 80gb hard disk, and was restored to a 60gb drive. Some day when I get time I should try a 80gb -> 80gb drive.
    Also, the DVD's were built with the 2 step method. I have no answer as to why it asked for 1 after the 2, but I think because of the reallocation of the partitions, it needed to look at 1 again at the end. Note that some of this may be effected by which release of TI that your using. The above was with 826. I have not tried this again with any of the 9xx releases.

    Storage_man
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Thanks guys,

    I wanted to know because people ask me. I've done many restores but only one from DVD and that was a test and a single DVD at that. Restoring from an internal or external HD is so much easier as you know.

    Sounds like TI has less DVD disc changes for a restore process than Ghost 9.
     
  12. woward

    woward Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    I'm having a problem creating TI images to DVD if the image spans more than one DVD. When I do it, TI (latest build) seems to be working fine (it's grinds away writing to the DVD) but just when it finishes the first DVD I get a DVD write error. At the same time, TI asks that the second blank DVD be inserted. If I let it write the second DVD that portion of the image appears fine. However the first DVD is unreadable by any means: WinXp Explorer cannot read it, Roxio 7.5 cannot, nor can TI.

    Any suggestions on how to get TI to work properly to allow direct creation of multiple DVD's when an image is too large to write on a single DVD? I'm tired of making coasters...

    If I want to try the "two step method" do I just let Roxio break up a large HD file into as many DVD's as it wants?

    Thanks,

    Bill
     
  13. John Steven

    John Steven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    I normally only image my C:\ partition (just the os & software) and I make my images 635mb each to optimize space on DVD's. I follow the instructions by wdormann and make my DVD "Bootable". Since I only image my C:\ drive (20gig), I only have 6 images (5 @ 635mb & 1 @ 420mb). These images easily fit onto a single DVD and from an internal DVD drive it takes about 18 minutes to restore my C:\ drive. If you have to span DVD's with your images, only the first DVD needs to be bootable.

    Hope this helps..........
     
  14. Technic

    Technic Guest

    @woward

    I assume you are using DVD-R or DVD+R discs. Only Roxio supports DVD+R's format in UDF. And that's not so reliable way. I suggest you to use DVD-RW's.
     
  15. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi Bill,

    Having cracked the boot CD problem, I'm sure you can get on top of this one too!!

    Firstly, disable Windows XP's built-in CD/DVD recording feature as detailed <here>. If you are using third party packet writing software there is really no need to also use Windows XP's built-in functionality. Indeed, it can often cause compatibility problems.

    When creating an image using the "direct" method, all the DVDs need to be preformatted with some form of packet writing software. This same software needs to be running in the background when image creation to DVD is in progress. In your case the packet writer is Roxio Drag-to-Disk, which means you can preformat DVD+R or DVD+/-RW (use RW disks whilst testing and just reformat before using them again). Note that Roxio is the only program at the moment that can "UDF format" DVD+R media. However, it isn't formatting in the normal sense of the word because that would be impossible with "write once" disks.

    Many people prefer to use the "two-step" method as they find it more reliable. In this case you can use blank DVD+/-R or DVD+/-RW, although Acronis themselves cannot guarantee that TI will always work correctly with DVD-R media. If a DVD+/-RW has previously been UDF formatted then it must first be "blanked" by erasing the UDF file system. When creating the initial image to your hard drive, choose the option to split the size manually and just type in 1492 MB into the space provided (ignore the drop down pick-list). You can then burn three of these .tib files per DVD as a ISO 9660 DVD-ROM compilation. I also recommend that you reduce the burn speed to around half the maximum allowed for the type of DVD being used in order to reduce the likelyhood of data corruption. Modern, high-speed, recorders can be too clever for their own good when it comes to burning a full disk of pure data (one bad byte and the whole image is rendered useless).

    Whichever method you use to create a multiple-DVD image, when the time comes to verify or restore it, you need to insert the last disk first and then follow TI's prompts for subsequent changes. Therefore it's a good idea to number each disk immediately after it's been recorded ;).

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.