Dual Boot

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Infected, Nov 29, 2017.

  1. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    843
    I'm going to be dual booting W7 and Mint. I have 2 ssds, one with W7 and the other will be Mint. The 2nd drive is 250gb.

    So the / drive will be 30gb
    the /swap will be 32gb as i have 16gb of ram.
    and the /home will be 188gb?

    And which of these partitions do I install mint onto?

    Thanks
     
  2. JConLine

    JConLine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Posts:
    108
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,490
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Infected,

    Make it easy for yourself and only have one partition. The root partition.
     
  4. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,798
    If you have 16GB of RAM, you probably don't need a SWAP. I only got 8GB RAM and I don't use SWAP on my SSD. No problems whatsoever.
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,490
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Infected,

    I just did the exercise. Windows on HD0 (SSD). HD1 (SSD) is empty, no partitions.

    Boot your Mint UFD or DVD. For Installation type, choose "Something else". Select the Free Space on /dev/sdb and click Change. Use as Ext4, Format box ticked, Mount point /

    For "Device for boot loader installation" choose /dev/sdb

    Installation takes a few minutes. You can boot Mint from the BIOS Boot Menu.
     
  6. Palancar

    Palancar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    1,987

    That would be an easy config. But, then don't you give up LUKS and LVM, or do you simply use them on just one partition?
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,490
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Palancar,

    I'm just trying to make it as simple as possible for Infected's first Linux install. Other configurations can be tried later.
     
  8. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    843
    Thanks! I'll give this a go when I get home. :thumb::thumb::thumb:
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,490
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Please let us know how you fare. Any questions?
     
  10. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    843
    I really appreciate all your help. Everything is up and running good. Thanks again.
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,490
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I'm glad I could help. Have you noticed the clock time is correct in Mint and incorrect in Windows?
     
  12. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    843
    yes, i found a registry tweak. Seemed to work.
     
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,490
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    The easier way is to do this in a Mint Terminal...

    timedatectl set-local-rtc 1

    Now both OS will show Local Time.
     
  14. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    1,109
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    After doing what Brian explained, you'll need to readjust the BIOS time a last time upon next reboot.
    But after that, it'll stay ok.
     
  15. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    843
    I do have a question. When I try to run system updates, i get this error.

    Code:
    W: Target Packages (main/binary-amd64/Packages) is configured multiple times in /etc/apt/sources.list.d/chrome.list:1 and /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list:3
    W: Target Packages (main/binary-all/Packages) is configured multiple times in /etc/apt/sources.list.d/chrome.list:1 and /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list:3
    W: Target Translations (main/i18n/Translation-en_US) is configured multiple times in /etc/apt/sources.list.d/chrome.list:1 and /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list:3
    W: Target Translations (main/i18n/Translation-en) is configured multiple times in /etc/apt/sources.list.d/chrome.list:1 and /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list:3
     
  16. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,490
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Infected,

    Has the issue been resolved?
     
  17. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    843
    Yes, I just uninstalled Google Chrome and it resolved it. Thanks
     
  18. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,490
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Nice work.
     
  19. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    843
    Another question. I'm running a dual linux boot. How can I remove one, then boot straight into the one that I want to keep?
     
  20. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,490
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    If grub was installed to the partition you should be able to just delete the partition.
     
  21. lofac

    lofac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Posts:
    90
    Location:
    .
    As Brian said, but look carefully at "If grub was installed to the partition"
    which is not always the case since grub installs usually into MBR so NEVER format the linux partition thinking you're going to get rid of it, it will only cause LOTS of trouble and will be having to deal with a Windows partition to restore Windows bootloader.
     
  22. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,490
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I tried this today with Legacy BIOS set. Not UEFI. Mint was installed and then Ubuntu was installed with the boot loaders in their respective partitions. (only two partitions on the disk)
    Ubuntu wasn't automatically added to the boot menu but this was fixed in Mint with...

    sudo update-grub

    The Mint partition was then deleted. Ubuntu didn't boot. A flashing cursor was seen without a boot menu. This was fixed with the "boot-disk-repair" flash drive.

    https://sourceforge.net/p/boot-repair-cd/home/Home/

    Note, this UFD had to be booted in UEFI mode with Secure Boot disabled. Even though the OS was installed in Legacy mode.
     
  23. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    843
    @Brian K

    I ended up deleting Windows and now I just have Mint. But the grub boot menu is there on startup. Is there a way to bypass this or reduce the countdown timer?
     
  24. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,490
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  25. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    843
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.