Dual Boot?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by deadlegs, May 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. deadlegs

    deadlegs Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Is it possible to clone the boot disk of one PC and to set it up as an alternate boot option on another PC? That is, I want the option to go into one or the other. OR do I have to actually install the second OS rather than use a clone?

    Thanks
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    It can be very hard to get a clone of one machine to boot and run properly on another as the hardware is usually different. An XP repair is usually needed to fix drivers, etc.

    For stability, a clean install will usually work much better.
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello deadlegs,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please notice that Mudcrab is correct. However, you can transfer the system to a different hardware using Acronis Universal Restore (an add-on for corporate versions of Acronis True Image). Please also see this article regarding some multiboot principles. With a system transferred from another computer it's possible to set multiboot "the Third-Party Way". Please notice that Acronis Disk Director includes a boot manager (Acronis OS Selector).

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  4. deadlegs

    deadlegs Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Many thanks for your advices. I have a single user licence for Acronis True Image Home so not in the league of the Enterprise solutions. I will however read the articles you posted thank you.

    I have received separate advice (Acronis Tech Support) that I can clone an image to the other PC and to use Bootcfg to detect the two installations and hence create the dual boot situation. I have another question about this, can the second boot partition be on a USB Ext HDD?

    Thanks again to those who have responded.
    Deadlegs
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If it's a version of Windows, then you can't run it off an external drive. If it's a version of linux or something similiar, then maybe. You'd have to check out support for the particular OS.
     
  6. deadlegs

    deadlegs Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    It will be Windows.....thanks.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.