Dual boot vista / ubuntu

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by JustPlainFred, Jan 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JustPlainFred

    JustPlainFred Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Posts:
    59
    Hello all,
    My question is this: After i configure my OS in a dual boot scenario (vista/Linux) will TI-11 8101 "freak out"? Will i have to do over all of my Backups, etc. How will "recovery boot mgr" handle this? Does anyone have any experience with this type of thing? Regards PlainFred
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    What boot manager are you going to use?

    TI should not have a problem backing up or restoring either OS, but there may be some boot repairs required depending on the boot manager used and how each OS is setup.
     
  3. JustPlainFred

    JustPlainFred Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Posts:
    59
    MudCrab,
    Hello, As i am just "Exploring" this im not 100% sure at this point as to how im going to set this up, Maybe:
    1. Partition my main diive.
    2. Try to put "ubuntu" on a second internal drive?
    At this point im not sure, just looking at the options. As far as a boot mgr. iv'e downloaded EasyBCD 1.7.2 haven't run it yet and don't know much about it.Just was wondering how Acronis "recovery manager" was going to work with the new dual boot system? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Regards PlainFred
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello PlainFred and MudCrab,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    PlainFred, I can suggest you the following: You can install Ubuntu on another partition without installing Grub or installing it to the boot sector of the partition you are installing Linux to. After that launch EasyBCD software, select Add/remove entries button -> Linux, choose Type and Drive, mark "Grub isn't installed to the bootsector box", hit "Add entry" button.

    Thank you.

    --

    Oleg Lee
     

    Attached Files:

    • BCD.JPG
      BCD.JPG
      File size:
      58.4 KB
      Views:
      246
  5. ammler

    ammler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Hello Oleg,

    one question still remains: is there a way of using the -in the Secure Zone installed- Recovery Manager without using the Acronis Code in the MBR to start it?

    In Other words: can EasyBCD be configured (so in fact: the vista boot loader) to start the Recovery Manager in the Secure Zone ?

    I would like a boot manager to display an option e.g. "Start Acronis Recovery Manager" instead (or additional) to the F11, but don't like proprietary MBRs. Guess Acronis knows this issue.

    If it is not possible -probably the secure zone is "too hidden"- any similar solution?


    Thanks in advance,
    ammler
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ammler,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    There is no way to install Acronis Startup Recovery Manager to another place. To have on the same machine both Acronis Startup Recovery Manager and GRUB or LILO, you will need to follow the instructions described below.

    If you want to have Acronis Startup Recovery Manager and GRUB at the same time, do the following:

    1. Boot in Linux;
    2. Set the Linux root (/) partition or /boot partition (in case you have a separate /boot partition) Primary and Active.
    3. In Linux install GRUB on this partition:

    #/sbin/grub-install /dev/boot_partition

    4. Boot in Windows and create Acronis Secure Zone using Acronis True Image. If you already have one, you do not need to create it;
    5. Activate Acronis Startup Recovery Manager.

    Now, upon the first reboot or every time you boot the computer, you can invoke Acronis Startup Recovery Manager by pressing F11. If you do not press F11, you will be brought to the GRUB loader screen. You will also get to the same GRUB loader screen if you pick Windows from the Acronis Startup Recovery Manager selection screen. This is due to the fact that your computer boots from the active partition where GRUB is installed.

    If you want to have Acronis Startup Recovery Manager and LILO at the same time, do the following:

    1. Boot in Linux
    2. Set the Linux root (/) partition or /boot partition (in case you have a separate /boot partition) Primary and Active. See Instructions how to make the primary partition active using fdisk;
    3. In Linux install LILO on this partition:

    #/sbin/lilo /dev/boot_partition

    4. Boot in Windows and create Acronis Secure Zone using Acronis True Image. If you already have one, you do not need to create it;
    5. Activate Acronis Startup Recovery Manager

    Now, upon the first reboot or every time you boot the computer, you can invoke Acronis Startup Recovery Manager by pressing F11. If you do not press F11, you will be brought to the LILO loader screen. You will also get to the same LILO loader screen if you pick Windows from the Acronis Startup Recovery Manager selection screen. This is due to the fact that your computer boots from the active partition where LILO is installed.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  7. skiabox

    skiabox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    7
  8. skiabox

    skiabox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Any ideas here guys?
    Thank you.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello skiabox,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    FixMBR operation will overwrite Acronis Startup Recovery Manager.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.