DSO Exploit Spyware

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by ericb, Aug 27, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ericb

    ericb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1
    Hi everyone! Despite having Spyblaster up-to-date, I keep finding DSO Exploit when scanning with Spybot. Any idea how to immunize my system? Cheers.
     
  2. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
    The issue regarding Spybot finding but not fixing DSO Exploit is actually a bug in the current version of Spybot (1.3), that is fixed in the new beta version (1.3.1) which should be finalized soon.

    Basically, Spybot is identifying a specific security setting in Internet Explorer and reporting it as "DSO Exploit". Since Spybot does not "fix it" properly, people believe they are getting reinfected because each new Spybot scan turns up the same items again and again.

    Microsoft patched the true DSO Exploit over 2 years ago, so any system that is current with Windows Updates (or that has even updated in the last year or more), is not vulnerable to this old exploit. There's more on this here:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=41203

    SpywareBlaster doesn't do anything about DSO Exploit because it is not a real "piece of spyware". It's just an old IE exploit that has been fixed for a long time.
     
  3. luv2bsecure

    luv2bsecure Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    713
    I was wondering why that kept appearing with every run of Spybot!
    Thank you!!

    John
    Luv2BSecure

    .
     
  4. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
  5. DSO

    DSO Guest

  6. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Hey...
    the mcse.ms link has cross references to X10(63.211.210.0) - a known spyware/adware server. Am i right??
    Note: my firewall logging rules got messy, the ip could also be 64.85.92.0 - both are classified as X10, both have hostnames missing.
     
  7. Rob Smith

    Rob Smith Guest

    Thankyou to all you guys, That dso exploit thing was driving me nuts for ages.....now its gone......Thanks all.........Rob
     
  8. ace2_red

    ace2_red Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Posts:
    1
    I have found a fix for dso exploit which I have used to eleminate it from appearing each time I run Spybot
    after you run spybot and it shows dso exploit (5) items click on fix to get rid of them THEN
    go MODE at top then settings then Ignore Products and schroll down till you see dso exploits and then place a check mark there and the next time you run spybot you will receive
    congratulations/best to you all/ace :D
     
  9. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    I have dumped spybot now . I have noticed a steady decline and latest tests confirm that for me . I am more confident with software that is really into daily attention . The DSO exploit false positive has been happening to spybot now for over 3 or 4 months. There are millions out there who dont come to forums like this or DSL who would be real concerned and maybe screwed their systems some how over this . I am very happy with giant anti spy ware and would rather now put my donation into a yearly licence . Spybot may have served me well in the past but current tests seem to show it is really lagging.
     
  10. muskrat26

    muskrat26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    I am in total agreement with you. I do find that Spybot takes in excess of 45 minutes to run, freezing at certain stages, and I can't run it in background. I also was going crazy trying to remove/immunise the DSO exploits and found the reason on this forum purely by chance.
    More interesting is how it did not pick up some very serious spyware that another program did, so until Spybot gets its act together, corrects the bugs and fixes some serious spyware it does not locate I won't run it again.
     
  11. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    I have also dumped Spybot, allthough it didn't take long to scan my computer it never found anything which the other spy-programs i have do.
    I think you're right solarpowered candle, the time have simply run out for the "once a month updating" spyware programs, nowadays you need "daily attention" as you put it. :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2004
  12. Catskill

    Catskill Guest

    I got rid of it for good - I went to start-search- and searched for DSO Exploit and 5 zip files popped up. I just deleted them and I haven't seen them since!! I keep as up to date as possible on Spyware names and run a "search" on my own and delete those things myself. So far so good. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.