DRO Question

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rainwalker, Jan 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,311
    Location:
    USA
    Lately i have been seeing a lot of DRO popups from my HIPS program. This is something i have not seen before. I am on a standalone computer. Should i be concerned ?
     
  2. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,311
    Location:
    USA
    Someone please.
     
  3. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    10,137
    Location:
    UK
    What does DRO stand for?
     
  4. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,311
    Location:
    USA
    Excellent question stapp..........haven't a clue and since you are just as much in the dark i won't be allowing it anytime soon.

    Malware scans are showing nothing.
     
  5. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    10,137
    Location:
    UK
    Could it be connected with torrent file downloads perhaps?
     
  6. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,311
    Location:
    USA
    Don't use them.
     
  7. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    10,137
    Location:
    UK
    Which HIPS program are you using?

    Perhaps contacting the software's forum may help.
     
  8. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    10,137
    Location:
    UK
  9. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,311
    Location:
    USA
  10. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Now you have me curious. Have you done a search of your hdd for the .DRO extension? Have you attempted to open it in notepad ? I am no coder, do not know your level of experience but at least you may find a program name\reference buried in it.
     
  11. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,311
    Location:
    USA
    Not so sure it is an extension....and adding more confusion...http://acronyms.thefreedictionary.com/Direct Readout
     
  12. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Found much of the same myself when I did a Google. Is it inbound or outbound ? Doing a hdd search with hidden and protected files showing would not hurt.

    The plot thickens. :ninja:
     
  13. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    10,137
    Location:
    UK
    Can you post a screenshot of the popup from your hips program and also say which program it is that you use?
     
  14. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,311
    Location:
    USA
    As i recall i saw no networking attempts. It wanted to work with the HD. I am still looking into this.
     
  15. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    After wading through DRO references of wacky weed and robotics, the only thing I saw that might make sense is this. There might be a program written in Delphi that is causing it.
     
  16. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,311
    Location:
    USA
    OK...Thanks midway40.
     
  17. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,762
    Probably stands for Data Request Output.
    Is related with I/O operations and if I am not mistaken happens when windows fails to communicate with a device (device timeout).

    Does it happen when you transfer files to an external hard disk?


    Panagiotis
     
  18. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,311
    Location:
    USA
    One example would be:
    Provider Host/Process/wmiprivse.exe
    Device: DRO
     
  19. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Has your computer been acting strangely lately other than the DRO popups? If it has then running CHKDSK C: /R in the command window might stop the DRO errors.
     
  20. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,311
    Location:
    USA
    I ran a checkdisk just for the heck of it.....but still getting requests.....strange.
     
  21. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    That is strange, I don't know what else it could be. Heck, I might be having them and don't know it, lol.

    A real mystery there :ninja:
     
  22. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    10,137
    Location:
    UK
    Another strange DRO google result here

    A PC Program to view the DRO Printer Output
    There is a program supplied with Windows (95,98,NT,ME etc) called HyperTerminal (Hypertrm.exe). It displays the output of
    the printer from the DRO on the screen as it would appear on a printer.
    To see if you have it installed click the Start Button and look under
    Programs > Accessories > Communications
    If you see a folder marked HyperTerminal then you have this software installed. If not, install it from the Windows CD.


    From here

    http://74.125.77.132/search?q=cache...nter with dro&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=3&client=opera
     
  23. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,311
    Location:
    USA
    Hello stapp..........not in Vista.
     
  24. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,311
    Location:
    USA
    I would think you would see something if your using a HIPS. It is indeed a mystery....thus far.
     
  25. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,762
    - What is "wmiprivse.exe"? Does it come with a printer, scanner or another device software?

    - What HIPS are you using? DRO is not malicious. If you see it often it could mean that your hips interfears with a device controller (probably usb) and causes timeouts, which can lead in errors with data trasmission to/from the device. (one of the reasons I ditched Comodo defence+ was this).

    Panagiotis
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.