Drive snapshot image on VMware workstation

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by raakii, Dec 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. raakii

raakii Registered Member

I am new to vmware , i have just downloaded the vmware workstation.Is it possible to load a Drive Snapshot image in a vmware machine.?How to do it ?

2. guest

guest Guest

http://www.drivesnapshot.de/en/news.htm

3. raakii

raakii Registered Member

Hello guest , can u pls explain how to restore Drive snapshot image on to vmware player.

4. guest

guest Guest

sory, i am using active@ disk image
    i am not using Drive snapshot and vmware player.
    i dont know

maybe other guys can explain

5. kennyboy

kennyboy Registered Member

@Raakii

I also am hoping that maybe Brian or Mark can give us the answer to this, as I can not figure out how to do it either.

6. mantra

mantra Registered Member

what i don't like about drive snapshot is that there is not gui to restore for example xp by dos

7. kennyboy

you actually have a choice of Guis for DS. You can use either BartPE, UBCD, or any other bootable environment. It just takes a little time to boot and then it is fully available to image/restore/mount or do anything you want with DS.
    It is quite an astonishing program considering its tiny size. Plus the fact that is has proved 100% reliable for most if not all users.

8. raakii

raakii Registered Member

Thats the strength of Drive snapshot according to me .Image for Windows (or) Shadow protect, its nearest competitors , require a reboot to complete the installation ,and can be run only from its own recovery environment.

But Drive snapshot can run almost any recovery cd , bartpe , active boot disk or ubcd ,which others cannot.
    Reliabilty:
    Out of 50 times i restored not even once i have had a problem with the images.

9. Meriadoc

Meriadoc Registered Member