Drive Snap: Drive Snapshot Frontend

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by markymoo, May 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,896
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    That is more expensive than DS. You guys must all have money to burn, but I don't.

    That would only work if the user bios supported bootable flash drives. Mine does not.

    You can see my problem.....
     
  2. Jo Ann

    Jo Ann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    n8chavez, you don't have to buy Active@, as any Windows-based bootable iso works even if the apps/utilities on it are trial versions! The whole idea is to be able to boot into any 'external' Windows environment so that you can navigate to snapshot.exe (wherever located) and run it.

    As I indicated in my first post, you can place the DS executable on any hard drive and/or on the bootable media (in order to place it on a 'self-contained' iso, you will need an iso extractor/modifier program (such as UltraISO). But the latter isn't really necessary, because once you bootup into a Windows environment you can simply navigate to snapshot.exe (as said before) and run it.

    If all of this seems too much of a hassle, just buy ATI v11 and be done with it - ATI should do the job just fine. ;)
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2008
  3. raakii

    raakii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    drive snapshot is the fastest of imaging apps , so i would recommend u stick with it
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2008
  4. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,896
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    There is no place for any talk on that nature here. Active@ boot disk is not free. Any talk about circumvention, however it was intended, should not be permitted. Admins, please remove the above post on those grounds.

    I appreaciate your intentions but not your method.
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2008
  5. Jo Ann

    Jo Ann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Download UBCD4Win. This is actually the iso (CD image), so burn it to a CD and you are good to go. Works well as a Recovery (boot) CD and it is absolutely FREE!!!
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2008
  6. Remouald

    Remouald Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    99
    Yes! and you can add the DriveSnapshot BartPE plugin to it so DS will be on the disc.
     
  7. kennyboy

    kennyboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Posts:
    404

    Yes you can, but also the beauty of DS is that it will run from ANYWHERE! It is just an .exe file, and as long as you can boot into a Windows environment, it doesn't matter where the DS program is because you can run it from it wherever you want to put it.
    The UBCD Plug-in does work well also.
     
  8. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,330
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I second that. In all my years of staisfaction with PARAGON which is been nearly flawless in all that time, DS has come along and actually forced me to mothball PARAGON, not dismiss, because DS offers just what i need. Quick images, equally reasonably fast restores 100% intact everytime without fail, ability to manipulate thru virtual partition of the .SNA image to on-the-fly at will add or subtract programs without affecting the final outcome (restores). And this app is so microscopically tiny to offer so much in the way of versatility.

    Now if it only would offer a DOS disc because this is my only limitation when dealing with Windows, command-line instructions/syntax is not in my best grasp.
     
  9. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,896
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Any idea when the newest frintend will be released. I am anxious to see what changes/improvents are made to DS with it. I've gotten the UBD to work, and DS with it, so I am going to buy it now.

    I sure hope there is a way to specify time in the created image filenames, because DS is currently lacking that.
     
  10. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    550
    Post deleted.Answer was on post #283.
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2008
  11. raakii

    raakii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    n8chavez ,please upload the UBD4win iso as i get bsod on install...

    is there aany direct link of that iso file
     
  12. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,896
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    I'm not sure that would be ethical of me to do. The ISO uses PE, which uses windows installation files. And, I have also added some of my own stuff to the ISO.
     
  13. raakii

    raakii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    i dont think it is unethical because the project is a open source one.
     
  14. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,896
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Right, UBD itself is open-source. But the ISO compiled with it is hardly open-source. As I said, it used Microsoft files that can vary from system to system. There are also cusromizations that I made that further complicate things and prevent me from uploading the ISO.
     
  15. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    945
    Hi all

    As far as Drive Snapshot is concerned I am a complete noobie.

    I have used Acronis TI 8 and Shadow Protect with no problem.

    When I come to find out how to do a bare metal restore from a CD and I look at Drive Snapshots web site I cannot find any info.

    Can anyone tell me how to get to a position where I can pop a CD into Win XP computer and restore an image using Drive Snapshot.

    Heard great reviews about it but, must be me, Shadow Protect and Acronis TI is dead simple.

    Am I missing something?

    Terry
     
  16. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,896
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    If is actually a lot simpler than it looks. Drive Snapshot is a single executable file. That means that there are no dependencies and that it can be copied onto other devices, USB, CD, ecternal drive, etc. I recently started using a Ultimate Boot Disk (see here). With that you can create custom ISOs that could include Drive Snapshot, the images it creates and anything else you want.

    That us the easiest, and most secure way, to restore an active partition should the need arise.

    The creation of recovery software is not as automated as it is with others but it still can be done. The end result is better than what any other software app can create by themselves.
     
  17. Jo Ann

    Jo Ann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Hello Terry,

    All you have to do is bootup into any 'live Windows' environment (BartPE, VistaPE, UBCD4Win, etc.) and run snapshot.exe from wherever it is located. I typically keep a copy of this small executable in the same folder (on my USB drive) where my DS image (.sna) files are stored.

    JA
     
  18. fred22

    fred22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Posts:
    229
    yes, i can't remember where i read this tip, it must be arround thi forum..
    i build a BartPE bootdisc with drivesnapshot, works really good:)
     

    Attached Files:

  19. markymoo

    markymoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    1,212
    Location:
    England
    Right i managed to incorporate your suggestion. It works a treat restoring from the hard drive as well. A very useful addition and can restore quicker. Thanks.

    Yes i suspected you meant that but didn't go into detail. You make a bootable DVD along with CD-ROM drivers so it can access the image(s) on the DVD and include snapshot and just specify the DVD letter and the image name on the command line. I will add that to the list for Drive Snap.

    I have made a Drive Snap BartPe plugin but I now prefer using the automatic restore as it works so well and is already restoring before i found and inserted a recovery CD such as BartPe, even though it takes longer to restore in DOS and you don't have a huge system partition. the automation makes it smooth sailing.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2008
  20. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,976
    Thanks a lot markymoo.
    I think that all the DS users will love this feature.

    ps. when you will be able to upload the new frontend. I am anxious to test it. :D

    Panagiotis
     
  21. raakii

    raakii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    Is the new drive snap contain a windows based recovery iso or dos based one ?
     
  22. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,976
  23. raakii

    raakii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    I have windows xp sp2.
    Is the reatogo XPE boot cd an exe type one or is it the iso file itself?
    Anyways i am downloading it .
    Another main problem with these BArt PEs , why does the recovery cd not in engilsh?
    HOw to change the language? Already i have a Bart pe disk but its not in engilsh .So i am finding it very difficult to understand its working .
    I cant understand anything other than engilsh.
     
  24. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,976
    ReatoGo is a "guide" to create your own personalised/localised bartpe cd. It will help you through the various steps.
    Since this is your first creation use the recommended settings, and don't forget to download/activate the plugin for drive snapshot. (you can download various plugins through Reatogo).
    And prepare you XP cd because it will need to copy th i386 folder from it.

    Panagiotis
     
  25. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,896
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    It the DS plugin required? I've restored an active image just by using the stand-alone DS executable on a PE environment.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.