Drive Backup Rescue CD...

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by bizon2000, Sep 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bizon2000

    bizon2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I have strange problem, rescue CD won't start in normal mod only safe, but just on FSC computers models Esprimo 5720 and 5730. Does anybody have similar problem
     
  2. Paragon_Cisco

    Paragon_Cisco Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Posts:
    28
    Hello bizon2000,

    This is due to some sort of hardware incompatibility.

    The recovery media has 3 different modes:

    "Normal" which is a Linux based has network and USB support
    "Safe Mode" which Dos based - No network or USB support
    "Low Graphics Mode" - Essentially a safe Dos mode (used for video compatibility issues) No network or USB support.

    If you need USB support you can use the WinPE Advanced Recovery CD which is Vista based and will definitely see your external USB drive. It also allows you to add drivers for network and RAID controllers on the fly as needed. This is available on pro versions and higher.

    Note: WinPE requires 512mb of RAM or higher
     
  3. bizon2000

    bizon2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Hi,

    thanks for your replay. But that is what make's me fuzzy, the same hardware configuration machine from HP works perfectly (chipset, peocessor, HDD...)

    I wrote that I can start it in safe mode, but the thing what is strange, everybody says DOS mode, no USB support, but I see and can access all of my USB devices why? I can restore drive in safe mode from any USB device but it's 10 times slower.
     
  4. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    Hello bizon2000,

    It looks like safe mode is your only option. I'm surprised you have partial USB support in safe mode. Can you let us know how the operation went even though it's sluggish.

    -Tommy
     
  5. xygor

    xygor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    Some BIOS will make a USB HD look like a regular HD or FD, so a DOS environment would just use normal disk I/O calls to the BIOS. I have no knowledge about your specific box though. Are you seeing the USB HD enumerated along with the internal one? Or is it specifically appearing as a USB device?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.