Drive Backup Pro (backup to DVD) question

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by Firebytes, Aug 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Firebytes

Firebytes Registered Member

I have never used an imaging program before this but I am now trying out Drive backup Pro. I was testing and attempted to copy my hard disc image to DVD (from outside Windows via the restore CD) and had a strange issue come up.

When I began the process Drive Backup advised that the image would be 10+GB in size (don't remember the exact number). I was using double layer DVDs which are supposed to have a capacity of 8.5GB. I expected that I would be asked to insert a second DVD when the first was full. Well the whole copy process went to the one DVD. The program never asked for a second DVD and the program stated at the end that the 10+GB had copied. I received no errors, etc. If I look on the disc with Windows Explorer the disc is completely full.

So, what is the deal??

2. Paragon_Tommy

Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

Hello Firebytes,

Did you get a chance to browse into the DVD and check its size? With the File Transfer feature, you can look into the archive and validate the data. Might want to extract random files for testing purposes. Typically on the summary page, a few sizes are mentioned, the before compression raw data size and after compression archive size. By default, Drive Backup is set to normal compression which can achieve approximately 80% of the original data, depending what type of files you backup.

-Tommy

3. Firebytes

According to explorer the disc capacity is 7.94GB and the amount of space used is 7.94GB. That's why I think something is wrong as even if the disc image was compressed to more than the 10+GB size that Paragon DB initially estimated, I find it hard to believe it was compressed to exactly the size of the disc capacity. Also, when the disc was finished Paragon DB did state that 10+GB had been copied.