Drag and Drop

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by puff-m-d, Dec 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello all,

    It seems that I have lost most of my drag and drop functionality on my desktop. If I drag a shortcut to a folder on my desktop, it opens windows explorer now. It does not move to shortcut to the folder like it should. Any ideas?
     
  2. dog

    dog Guest

    Hi Kent, ;)

    I found this --> http://www.tek-tips.com/faqs.cfm?fid=5242

    I don't know about this site ... but you could check into this. I couldn't find anything in the M$ KB or anywhere else for that matter.

    HTH, ;)

    Steve
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 7, 2004
  3. dog

    dog Guest

    Any Luck Kent?

    With a Bump. ;)
     
  4. nod32_9

    nod32_9 Guest

    Which OS & browser? May want to repair IE. Could be a bad patch. Use system restore if available.

    You could always reload windows on top of the existing OS.
     
  5. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    I have not had time to try it yet.... Will post back once I have...

    Thanks dog....
     
  6. nod32_9

    nod32_9 Guest

    Try the default desktop theme or no theme. Still having drag and drop problem? Check out this post...


    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\\Interface\{0000010E-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}\NumMethods

    Mine has an unnamed Value of type REG_SZ which is set to 12.

    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\\Interface\{0000010E-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}\ProxyStubClsid

    Mine has an unnamed Value of type REG_SZ which is set to {0000030C-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}

    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\\Interface\{0000010E-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}\ProxyStubClsid32

    Mine has an unnamed Value of type REG_SZ which is set to {00000320-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}
     
  7. dog

    dog Guest

    Since you've got it started Nod32. ;)

    Here's the entire text from the link above. Just to make it easier view. :)

    http://www.tek-tips.com/faqs.cfm?fid=5242
     
  8. dog

    dog Guest

    Just to confirm Kent ... I verified this data with my registry ... and it is identical.

    Sorry, I should've done this earlier ... thanks for the nudge Nod32 ;)

    HTH, ;)

    Steve
     
  9. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Sorry dog and nod32_9,

    The above did not help any but thanks for your help anyways...... ;)
     
  10. dog

    dog Guest

  11. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2004
  12. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    have you tried right-clicking on the task bar>properties>start menu>customize>(depending which setup you have)advanced>enable drag and drop?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.