Drag and Drop

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by puff-m-d, Dec 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,140
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello all,

    It seems that I have lost most of my drag and drop functionality on my desktop. If I drag a shortcut to a folder on my desktop, it opens windows explorer now. It does not move to shortcut to the folder like it should. Any ideas?
     
  2. dog

    dog Guest

    Hi Kent, ;)

    I found this --> http://www.tek-tips.com/faqs.cfm?fid=5242

    I don't know about this site ... but you could check into this. I couldn't find anything in the M$ KB or anywhere else for that matter.

    HTH, ;)

    Steve
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 7, 2004
  3. dog

    dog Guest

    Any Luck Kent?

    With a Bump. ;)
     
  4. nod32_9

    nod32_9 Guest

    Which OS & browser? May want to repair IE. Could be a bad patch. Use system restore if available.

    You could always reload windows on top of the existing OS.
     
  5. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,140
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    I have not had time to try it yet.... Will post back once I have...

    Thanks dog....
     
  6. nod32_9

    nod32_9 Guest

    Try the default desktop theme or no theme. Still having drag and drop problem? Check out this post...


    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\\Interface\{0000010E-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}\NumMethods

    Mine has an unnamed Value of type REG_SZ which is set to 12.

    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\\Interface\{0000010E-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}\ProxyStubClsid

    Mine has an unnamed Value of type REG_SZ which is set to {0000030C-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}

    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\\Interface\{0000010E-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}\ProxyStubClsid32

    Mine has an unnamed Value of type REG_SZ which is set to {00000320-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}
     
  7. dog

    dog Guest

    Since you've got it started Nod32. ;)

    Here's the entire text from the link above. Just to make it easier view. :)

    http://www.tek-tips.com/faqs.cfm?fid=5242
     
  8. dog

    dog Guest

    Just to confirm Kent ... I verified this data with my registry ... and it is identical.

    Sorry, I should've done this earlier ... thanks for the nudge Nod32 ;)

    HTH, ;)

    Steve
     
  9. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,140
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Sorry dog and nod32_9,

    The above did not help any but thanks for your help anyways...... ;)
     
  10. dog

    dog Guest

  11. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2004
  12. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    have you tried right-clicking on the task bar>properties>start menu>customize>(depending which setup you have)advanced>enable drag and drop?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.