Dr.Web VISTA READY!!!!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by C.S.J, Mar 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    so is the beta i downloaded earlier the lastest beta?
    the version is 10.1.0.238
    i went to the beta testing file area and browsed to win
    and downloaded the file
    drweb-433-win-en.exe
    where did you get your version from?
    9.18mb
     
  3. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    just download the windows beta / and let it do its updates.

    yayyy, im glad its finally here, whether in beta or not. :D
     
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Im happy for you Chris and the other people with vista and drweb
    lodore
     
  5. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    yep,

    finally, back to some real-time protection, also its working with my licence and spam is working etc, so finally....... im all set up. :D

    im a happy one.
     
  6. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Good for you, Chris :)

    Running Vista is a test of patience for sure, lol.
     
  7. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    i should mention, ive been told the following:

    -------------------------------------------------------------------
    1. File names (new files: spiderui.exe, spidercpl.exe; obsolete: spiderui.dll, spider.cpl)
    2. Places (new: spidercpl.exe replaced %windir%\sustem32\spider.cpl)
    3. Language resources, if used
    4. New settings, most of them not docummented yet

    Before installing new version, you must remove previous version and reboot. Then install new version and change contents of spidercpl.xml in the DrWeb installation filer. Its a plain text file. Edit paths to match DrWeb installation folder. Then, run "drwreg.exe /spnt43344".

    Some of these steps might be unnecessary, but I'm not sure new installer is fully compatible with with beta-version by now (its not officially announced).

    SpIDer Guard version now is 4.33.4.03110.


    ------------------------------------------------------------

    care must always be taken until Dr.Web themselfs give information about this update.

    im not sure if the above helps anyone, but there you go..... might aswell tell all people giving it a go.
     
  8. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Three cheers for you Vista users. Glad to see they finally released this version. I'm waiting for Vista to get the wrinkles out before taking the plunge...:thumb: :D
     
  9. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    no released, just beta... and its still probably not got everything yet, but the good thing is, some real-time protection for my vista, at last. :D

    cmon malware where are you...... *lol*
     
  10. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    That's rather what I meant to say...you've got the Beta so the whole shebang isn't too far away...:eek: :cool:
     
  11. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Its really great to see that Dr.Web is now Vista-ready. At least it shows that the company is still alive. :D

    A strange thing I did notice is:

    Strangely enough, Virus Chaser has had a SpiderUI.exe since its very first version. Given the structure of the two programs and the way the modules operate in both (SpiderNT.exe, spider.sys, spiderml.exe etc. and of course the fact that it uses the Dr.Web patented name of SpiderGuard), err...it is only more proof that there is more to VC than was originally thought.
     
  12. Serge Popov

    Serge Popov AV Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Posts:
    41
    It is a coincidence. At least this one.
     
  13. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    phew :rolleyes:

    sighs with relief, hope its not like VC at all, :D
     
  14. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I am wondering what Serge Popov means by "at least this one". Does that mean that there is some truth in the other things said about VC? o_O
     
  15. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    hello,
    as i said i got the beta from the file area dont know if lastest or not but i went to the file area browsed to win and downloaded it and got the lastest key.
    in an earlier thread there was some talk about when dr web blocks a virus you can get the tray icon to show a popup showing what virus and what it did with it. but i dont know what you change in the .ini file to make it do that
    thanks in advance
    lodore
     
  16. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    well, you can set it to do it automatically.

    right click the spider > control > notifications. (this will tell you what its done automatically)

    the settings to do it automatically are in settings > actions

    Report is default > this will bring up the spider box with options what to do, change these options and it will do it automatically, and if you set up the notifications, it will tell you what its doing automatically.

    hope that clears it up a bit, im not good at explaining things.

    very interested by this, definatly a new feature, and if its not.... still interested by it, virus-like activities? ... hmm :


    http://img379.imageshack.us/img379/4454/99324403zu1.jpg

    Scanner GUI is in the test lab. The main improvement is the new DrWeb Shield module (allows GUI to kill the whole new class of malware, which is actively protecting itself from detection and removing).

    SpIDer Guard introduces some new features:

    1. Smart internal cache, reduces I/O while scanning and curing -- works now.
    2. FastMode (codename) for "Smart" mode. In some scenarios reduces number of files being scanned in ~10 times -- works now.
    3. Kill infected process, allows to desinfect active malware -- still disabled.
    4. Find infected instances in memory. If infected file is somehow found, SpIDer scans processes for the same file and desinfect them -- still disabled.

    And lots of bugs fixed. We'll see how it goes.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2007
  17. Serge Popov

    Serge Popov AV Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Posts:
    41
    If you look closely, you'll find other similarities: drweb32.dll, spider.sys. This in not a coincidence. In other words, we are working together in some areas, not just selling bits.
     
  18. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    VC trys to be a Dr.Web clone, but fails.

    sure it can use some of the technology, but doesn't use it right, and the package is a poor one.

    we shall see where Dr.Web goes with their new GUI, if it looks like VC im just gonna ditch it, i couldn't stand that product, with its horrible 'look and feel'
     
  19. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i had some good exprience with VC 5.0a today its better than i first thought and uses the technology well
    lodore
     
  20. shorty1

    shorty1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    Vermont
    It seems to me the Spider is much lighter now in terms of VM used. Currently spidernt.exe is using 916K while spiderui.exe is using 840K.
    See here for a 2004 screenshot comparison where it was 1.5 meg and 844K comparatively speaking. Subsequent releases pushed the larger process over 2meg, I think. https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=298746#post298746
     
  21. ross232

    ross232 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    Well, just installed the new beta under Vista and am thoroughly impressed. Had never tried Dr.Web up until now. Works with minimal system drag and does the job well. I'm actually looking at purchasing a license, at $35~ AU for a year, it's within my range and isn't overly expensive. :D

    NB: I do keep getting an update error if I try to launch the updater from within Dr.Web

    App: DrWebGUI v4.33.2
    Error: Cannot run update module(740)
    File: .\MainFrm.cpp
    Line: 1063
     
  22. Serge Popov

    Serge Popov AV Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Posts:
    41
    At this time you can run updater manually "as administrator", it should work well. There is a minor bug with new Vista UAC controls which prevents the updater to be launched as a privileged application.
     
  23. Krond

    Krond Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Posts:
    44
    What is the right amount of sigs? Yesterday Dr.Web told me about 200353 Sigs, after an update DrWeb tells me 178538?!?!?! What is right, now? Is there anything wrong with my installation? Or what´s the reason here for?
     
  24. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    178609 is the current number from the beta, they may have consolidated signatures again. ie. generic detections.
     
  25. Krond

    Krond Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Posts:
    44
    Thanks. Thats the same amount like DrWeb told me now. But it is curious, why DrWeb told me over 200.000 sigs yesterday.......hmmmm
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.