Dr.Web. Spidermail Settings

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Bob, Jan 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bob

    Bob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    49
    I have a rather different question regarding Dr.Web.
    Spidermail Settings has an Interception part.
    Is there a way to exclude certain addresses from interception and not include or exclude everything for a certain port.
    I want to exclude 216.196.109.144 from interception for port 119; this because intercepting this address makes my binary newsreader crash.
     
  2. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    Re: Doctor Web, Ltd. launches beta-testing of a new generation anti-virus

    hi bob,

    yes i think so, although i aint sure... the only thing i can personally find is:

    open spidermail settings > interception > parameters

    also you may have to click manual settings first before entering parameters to change them, good luck as i dont fully understand what your trying to do, but hope this post helps o_O
     
  3. Bob

    Bob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    49
    C.S.J.,
    Binaries are downloded through port 119 and checked bij Spidermail.
    The amount of data is about 2 Gb in an hour and to much for Spidermail so that my binary newsreader crashes.
    I can disable port 119 and then there is no problem.
    But I'm trying to narrow it down by excluding the addresses of the binary newsserver.
    Bob
     
  4. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    are you sure this is the reason why your newsgroup is crashing?

    no problems here with newsgroup access, and my connection is pretty fast.

    ---
    anyway, thats the only thing in drweb i can see that as something to do with what your after.

    maybe there is a notepad-type configuation file where you could change this, maybe try a post on http://forum.drweb.com
     
  5. Serge Popov

    Serge Popov AV Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Posts:
    41
    I'd suggest to ask your question at support@drweb.com. Alternatively, search SpIDer Mail docs for "manual configuration". By default, it operates in "automatic" mode and hooks any connection to POP3, IMAP, SMTP, NNTP. As far, as I can recall, there is no way to exclude address, but you can include addresses and anything else will be "excluded".
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.