Dr.WEB questions, your expertise needed...

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by marcromero, Aug 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. marcromero

    marcromero Guest

    I need an alternative to NOD32, it's just not working for me... I downloaded the Dr.WEB trial yesterday and have a question concerning running processes. I show 4 running processes in task manager, should there be two spidernt.exe processes runing? One under system and one under user? Seems odd to me, hope someone can shed some light on this. I would also like your experience with the program, pro's and con's. Thanks for taking the time to enlighten me...

    Marc
     
  2. Arin

    Arin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    997
    Location:
    India
    One is loaded as a system service when your computer boots up and the
    other is loaded after you log in as a user process. Its normal so no need to
    worry.

    Dr.Web is very light but the on demand scanning speed is very slow. But
    you can fix it by scanning only recommended extensions. A very good choice
    without any doubt.

    *EDIT*

    It can unpack packed files and its updated very frequently. The update size is very
    small so you won't notice a thing.
     
  3. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    It's a normal aspect of DrWeb's protection against termination by malware, I think.
     
  4. marcromero

    marcromero Guest

    Thanks guys, but I have decided to stay with NOD for the time being.
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i tryed dr web the other day and i hated the fact that you have a icon in task bar for each thing and different interface for changing each part. get one inter Face and one icon in task bar and i might try again but intill you do your off my list
     
  6. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    You can configure DrWeb to show only one system tray icon.Even further, you can set(from control panel) SpiderNT to not show tray icon at all.



    tD
     
  7. westlake007

    westlake007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    I wish to help you ,but I don't install NOD32.:rolleyes:
     
  8. marcromero

    marcromero Guest

    As of yesterday, I have uninstalled NOD32 once again and re-installed Dr.WEB Anti-Virus. NOD32 has the worst update feature of any antivirus I have ever used, it lacks consistency and produces more errors than updates. I just cannot trust it anymore to keep me updated and protected. I have moved on... I will use my current NOD license to migrate to Dr.WEB.
     
  9. marcromero

    marcromero Guest

    Appreciate it westlake007, welcome to Wilders.
     
  10. Krond

    Krond Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Posts:
    44
    @marcromero: the problems IMHO are caused from your machine..... I know many people, they use NOD - including me, on one of my machines - and there is no trouble with the update. The update program of NOD is one of the best IMHO.....

    You should invest in time to configure the AV and learn about it´s features, you´ve installed, instead of uninstall and install of many AV-Engines...... I am using Dr.Web, NOD32, Kaspersky, McAfee and F-Secure on several machines and there is no trouble. But i know about the benefits and disadvantage of this engines.
     
  11. marcromero

    marcromero Guest

    Thanks for your comments, I understand how Nod works, I am not a computer newbie, but Nod's server problems are for real... and for this reason I have re-installed Dr.Web. It updates properly, which is very important to me. Dr.Web runs equally well on my laptop as did Nod, my computer was not the problem. Thanks for your help.
     
  12. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    but did you get it to chooose its own server?

    or did you pick one server because it should find the best one.

    i have heard a few of the servers are a bit flaky but most of them are find and they are getting fixed
     
  13. marcromero

    marcromero Guest

    I ran Nod at default settings, to automatically select server, sometimes it would update, sometimes not, I had more errors in my event log then updates. I have moved on... thanks.
     
  14. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    fair enough...


    i did try dr web in my testing to find the best av but as i said above i really didnt like the interface for each part i prefer one interface and if nod32 looks like it should be used on windows 95. then dr web looks like it should be used on windows 3.1 lol
     
  15. marcromero

    marcromero Guest

    I hear ya! the interfaces don't bother me, even Nod's interface didn't bother me, but it's inability to keep me updated and protected did, I don't have that problem with Dr.Web, it's johnny on the spot... I remember windows 3.1 and your right... lol
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 27, 2006
  16. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i like the nod32 interface nothing wrong with it really but if it didnt update for you then not good lol. i have gotten my av list down to four now. maybe three.

    bitdefender 10 its great i love it
    f-secure 2007 when it comes out maybe depends will try final.
    and cant wait to try nod32 3.0
     
  17. marcromero

    marcromero Guest

    Perhaps I'll have another look at Nod also, when version 3 makes the scene. Haven't tried Bit Defender or F-Secure. Being on dialup really limits my choices.
     
  18. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Did you read Technodromes post above? You can remove the extra DrWEB icons and work off the spider icon just fine...o_O :)
     
  19. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    yes i did but i dont know how to do that?

    and atm im testing bitdefender 10 and if i uninstall it i will lose the trial

    lodore
     
  20. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    To loose SplDer Mail Icon:
    1. SplDer Mail Main GuI
    2. Click the log tab
    3. Check unable tray icon

    To loose DrWeb scheduler tray icon:
    1. Open DrWeb scheduler main Gui
    2.Click the Options tab
    3.Uncheck show icon in tray

    To loose SplDer Guard tray icon
    1. Point your mouse pointer on the green spider then do right click and go to control option.
    2. Click the option tab
    3. Uncheck Show Splder Guard icon in system tray


    Done.
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    DrWeb scheduler...
     

    Attached Files:

  22. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    Splder Guard:
     

    Attached Files:

  23. marcromero

    marcromero Guest

    I've moved on back... back to Nod32. I missed it, until the server problems are fixed I'll just disable automatic updates and update manually. Why is Eset so slow to respond to things like this? Anybody know? Thanks.
     
  24. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Nod32 has a very helpful forum right here at Wilders, its right between DiamondCS and Javacool. Have you posted this problem there...o_O :eek:
     
  25. marcromero

    marcromero Guest

    Oh yeah, the Nod forum knows about the server problems and so does Eset. I have a work around at the moment. Thanks Mongol.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.