Dr Web Question

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by trjam, Mar 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    A simple question, but I dont have the answer. On install it does a scan and grabs a file on one of my computers that has to deal with Blue Coat Web Protection, a parental software.

    My question is how do I restore it. I also added it to exclusions and reinstalled K9 but it grabbed it again. Thank you
     
  2. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    let me ask a different way. How do I restore a file that has been quarentined.
     
  3. risl

    risl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    581
    Locate the "infected.!!!" folder and select to show hidden files and then simply cut/paste it back. You probably used CureIt since the actual Dr.Web only reports everything and lets you to decide what to do with detected items. CureIt probably has the quarantine as default option.

    If this is a false postive, please send it from http://vms.drweb.com/sendvirus/ as "False detection"
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2009
  4. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    lol already done with norman's?
     
  5. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    havent u noticed, his sig/avatar change like overy other day :D :p
     
  6. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    yeah lol but he did say the normans one would be staying for a while lol
     
  7. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    he also said that about ESET v4 wen it was in beta :cautious: :ouch: lol
     
  8. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    He'll be back.
     
  9. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Lol. You gents do know, you can change the paint job as much as you want, but, the wall always remains the same. Did you ever think I would part ways with Avira.

    Now I am using and like Dr Web on a computer and version 5 is really nice. My question is legit but telling me to copy and paste I dont think is really how it works. Maybe CSJ can help. It only happens on the install when it does the intial scan and grabs it. I cant move it back or I just dont know how. Dr Web is good, really good and even Stefan complimented their emulation capibilities.
     
  10. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    can i ask what happend with normans i am still tempted to buy it. not worth it? opinions please even via pm? thanks
     
  11. BrendanK.

    BrendanK. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    520
    Location:
    Australia
    It's good, not the top tier product, but it's up amongst them. It's all what suits you, give it a trial and you can see from their.

    Security is all about the enjoyment, not the protection :D

    ...Ok, maybe a little protection. :p
     
  12. risl

    risl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    581
    It is a known fact that Dr.Web doesn't have a "proper" quarantine, or a GUI/control for it to be exact. That's how it currently works but I believe they are planning to improve it. The "infected.!!!" folder is located in your installation folder.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2009
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.