Dr. Web Installation Error

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by n8chavez, Mar 31, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    I recently purchased Dr Web and I am having troubling installing it. Whenever I try to I get an error message that says:
    An error (-5003: 0x5) has occurred while running the setup
    Error Code: -5003 : 0x5
    Error Information:
    >SetupDLL\SetupDLL.cpp (1964)
    pAPP:Dr.Web
    PVENDOR:Doctor Web, Ltd.
    PGUID:BBE2F69C-4338-11D7-8F0C-00A0244F4E2D
    $10.1.0.238PAK
    @Windows XP (2600) BT_OTHER 232.64

    I'm not sure what I can do to fix this. I'm using version 4.32b

    Also, the smileys are not supposed to be there. I just copied and pasted the detailed error message.
     
  2. tahoma

    tahoma Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Posts:
    228
    i have no idea what tht means. maybe the installer is broken? have u tried to re download it?
     
  3. jlo

    jlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    UK
    Hi,

    I am afraid I can't help you but if you post your question here http://support.drweb.com/forums/ they are normally helpful and should reply to you.

    Kind Regards

    Jlo
     
  4. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    Do you have Administrator's rights on this machine?



    tECHNODROME
     
  5. shorty1

    shorty1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    Vermont
    Any other antivirus programs installed?

    The best way to get an answer to your problem is to use the support request form. Be sure to fill in your license key number as this will identify you as a registered user and will give your question/problem a much higher priority as far as tech support is concerned.

    http://support.drweb.com/request/?lng=en
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2005
  6. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    I have installed previous version of Dr Web without problem but this version seems to be different. I have doenload copies from many different locations and I still get the same result. I do have administrator right on the system, so I don't think that can be it. I have filled out a support ticket but have not yet gotten a response.
     
  7. tahoma

    tahoma Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Posts:
    228
    maybe u got some stuff installed that prevents changes to the system, like shell extension, for example ms anti-spyware?
     
  8. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    I've tried installing Dr Web in safe mode, think you might be right. But that didn't work either.
     
  9. AndreyKa

    AndreyKa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Posts:
    93
    Location:
    Russia
    Yours InstallShield installer was damaged.
    Next algorithm works with Win98. Maybe it will be helpful.
    1. Delete folders {BBE2F69C-4338-11D7-8F0C-00A0244F4E2D}
    from temporary folder.
    2. Delete registry key {BBE2F69C-4338-11D7-8F0C-00A0244F4E2D}
    from HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\
    3. Delete folder C:\Program Files\InstallShield Installation
    Information\{BBE2F69C-4338-11D7-8F0C-00A0244F4E2D}

    Start Dr.Web installation again.
     
  10. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    YEA!!! :p :p

    I received a response from tech support last night that ended up solving me problem. He is the solution:


    Probably some problem with installed RunTime from InstallShield.

    Please try to move folder \Program Files\Common
    Files\InstallShield\Professional\RunTime somewhere, restart Windows
    and run install of DrWeb again.

    Andrey Ka...you were very close. I think the only difference was that you were using a 9x as apposed to an NT based system.

    Thanks everyone for your help. I appreciate it.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. parham
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    782
  2. waters
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    662
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.