Dr.Web 64 bit beta?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by NAMOR, Nov 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    Anyone have any info in this or tried it? I was browsing their forum and beta area and noticed that there was a 64 bit beta download available at http://beta.drweb.com/ allowing with the following notes...

    Guess I'll download/install it and see if my computer blows up. :cautious:
     
  2. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Well sense this was posted yesterday. I take it the computer did explode... But don't worry The support form will be sure to tell you its the OS not the Product!.
     
  3. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    lol. Well I installed it and it appears to be a full suite for 64 bit. I did not install the firewall portion. Wasn't brave enough since I do not have a current back up of my Windows install. The link scanner and tamper protection modules did not install. Ran it for 24hrs and it seemed fine, however, web browsing seemed a bit slow. Went back to Avast for now.
     
  4. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812

    Well good to know your still alive. We don't need to lose anymore good posters to randomly exploding computers. :D
     
  5. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    ~Quote of edited post removed~

    Any word on how the 64 bit beta is going? I frequent the Dr.Web forum but unfortunately the majority of the posts in the beta section are in Russian. Is there any time frame set for the final release of the 64 bit version? Guess I'll go back to beta testing.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 12, 2009
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,787
    Location:
    Texas
    Several off topic posts removed. Please report off topic posts.
     
  7. format_c

    format_c Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    116
    in month or so.
     
  8. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    Seems to be running good so far, other than self-protection and context menu not working yet.
     
  9. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    wait so this is a full suite? are you allowed to post screens i would love to see some. thanks
     
  10. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum

    Yep, the beta area has the full suite. I don't have any interesting screen shots as I did not install the full suite.
     
  11. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Is it new GUI or the old oneo_O
     
  12. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    As of now the GUI is pretty much the same.
     
  13. pjb024

    pjb024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    351
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
  14. format_c

    format_c Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    116
    are you sure? o_O I guess you've missed something
     
  15. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    What did I miss?
     
  16. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    I just accessed my computer at home remotely and I guess there was an update the fix the context menu and self-protection. ;)
     
  17. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    testing this out now. ehhh so far not to impressed but ill give it a bit. beta lic expires tomm though??
     
  18. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    I asked about the license on their forum. There should be a new one soon on the beta download page.

    For now I have uninstalled it since I still have an active license from another vendor. On a side note, I did have issues with the uninstall process. I had to disable self-protection to uninstall it properly. Also the uninstall process left a DrWeb folder in C:\Program Files (x86) that I could not delete manually, kept getting "access denied" when trying to delete it, even is safe mode. Their uninstall tool did the trick though, which can be downloaded from ftp://ftp.drweb.com/pub/drweb/tools/drw_remover.exe
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2009
  19. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    just tried a uninstall it killed my system. bsod on reboot including safe mode reinstalling win 7 now... arghhhh im done with it for now
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.