Dr.Web 12

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by mekelek, Oct 24, 2018.

  1. mekelek

    mekelek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Posts:
    487
    Location:
    Hungary
    Not gonna copypaste the whole post about what's new, head over to
    Code:
    https://news.drweb.com/show/?lng=en&i=12879&c=14
    to see it all
    they also have a 90 days trial you can grab from that same website, but be ware, if you ever activated a Trial of any Dr.Web on your computer, it won't let you use the 90 days code. It will however let you activate a 30 day trial from inside the AV.

    TLDR: decent UI, granular configuration options, Panda level weak signatures(2-3 days old samples without a sig), good Behavior blocker, firewall popups are very informative, logs are detailed well enough

    only have a small sample size of how good it is, but i will post updates here about how it performs against fresh malware.
     
  2. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,561
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Has the HIPS been improved? A couple of years ago I was shocked to see that you couldn't even make rules. It felt very barebones to me, not a high quality product. Of course their AV might be much better, but Dr.Web Katana was a mess.
     
  3. mekelek

    mekelek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Posts:
    487
    Location:
    Hungary
    hatred is slowly growing in me for every minute i spend with Dr.Web.
    i do not advise using it.
     
  4. mekelek

    mekelek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Posts:
    487
    Location:
    Hungary
    the AV officially managed to get on my trashlist.
    avoid at all cost.
     
  5. robboman93

    robboman93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Holland
    Why? can you elaborate on this?
     
  6. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Thanks for the tips, mekelek!
     
  7. mekelek

    mekelek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Posts:
    487
    Location:
    Hungary
    this picture speaks a thousand words
    Code:
    http://any.ac/XbgiZx7I3zDK.png
    check process explorer

    in short: terrible signatures, nonexistant dynamic modules, hell, i even used Paranoid settings on the BB.

    you can find the whole test and older Dr.Web tests from me here:
    Code:
    https://www.geeks.fyi/showthread.php?tid=4365
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2018
  8. davisd

    davisd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Latvia
    What is SecureAPlus doing there? Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2018
  9. mekelek

    mekelek Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Posts:
    487
    Location:
    Hungary
    it's my SAP APEX test VM, i just put Dr.Web on there. It's disabled.
     
  10. 93036

    93036 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Posts:
    101
    How do like SecureAPlus?
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.