Dr Watson

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by hollywoodpc, Mar 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    drwtsn wants to modify my iexplore sometimes . I have drwtsn set to be able to modify protected programs . But , it is never allowed to modify iexplore . Any help would be appreciated
     
  2. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Hi hollywoodpc,

    I believe Dr. Watson is trying to debug an IE crash and requires both terminate and modify permissions to do so (on protected apps). You should see drwtsn32.exe and then dwwin.exe execute when a crash occurs.

    Nick
     
  3. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    Thanks Nick . I have terminate checked also . And no dwwin.exe in PG .
     
  4. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    I see you're using Prevx Pro. Does it have any features that protect IE as well?

    Nick
     
  5. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    It is not Prevx . But , to answer your question , it does . Prevx was removed though . It is the PD alert that will not allow modification . Could it be Outpost not allowing it to modify EVEN though it is the PG that alerts me to NOT allowing it to modify .?
     
  6. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Do you have Open Process Control enabled (in the Application tab/Components)? It will block network access for a modified process. Not sure if it blocks the modification though.

    Nick
     
  7. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    I do and it will . But , Outpost would popup telling me . Not PG . PG is what is stopping the modification and I cannot figure out why . And thank you for the time you are spending on this with me . That is super kind of you
     
  8. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Just a guess, does drwtsn32.exe have permission to Access Physical Memory?

    Nick

    Edit: On second thought, PG would alert you there as well. Tough one to troubleshoot (assuming all your settings are correct) without being able to crash IE.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2005
  9. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    What is recommended as far as set up for drwtsn32.exe and dwwin.exe? Right now I have them shutoff.
     
  10. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    Hi William .
    I think they ( DCS ) actually recommends turning them off . I cannot remember so do not quote me . I seem to remember being told that though .
     
  11. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    Nick .
    No . Physical memory access is unchecked . I will try that . Thanks my friend
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.