DR Watson thing

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by maddawgz, Feb 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    Hi there last few days I've tried to do a few things open few applications and it hangs then i get IE closes dr watson thing and Microsfot crash page
    here is error in the support help page wondering if its an application i installed or more serious..i did install this thing vista thing that changed all my pc to look like vista unintsalled it then had to use TweakUI powertools to rebuild cache icons which worked fine so not sure i uninstalled that ok though.......running kaspersky online scanner to make sure no viruses and Nod32 i use avg suite...


    Errors

    Applicatio n Error
    Faulting application drwtsn32.exe, version 5.1.2600.0, faulting module dbghelp.dll, version 5.1.2600.2180, fault address 0x0001295d.

    Fault bucket 00733296.
    MsiInstall er

    Product: Adobe Fonts All -- Error 1335.The cabinet file 'AdobeFontsAll1.cab' required for this installation is corrupt and cannot be used. This could indicate a network error, an error reading from the CD-ROM, or a problem with this package.


    Tx in advance
     
  2. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
  3. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    Thanks ZapJB
     
  4. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    I have done the same thing that Zapjb did concerning Dr. Watson. However that only puts a band-aid on the problem, not a cure. It does sound like an un-install\re-install of Adobe might solve your problem though.
     
  5. Arranger

    Arranger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    I've found that as long as you uncheck the "Append To Existing Log File" option in drwtsn32.exe that Dr Watson can run in the background unnoticed.

    The problem is that the log file can get huge if you have numerous incidents and the log file can take forever to append. So it sits there chewing up resources for no good reason.
     
  6. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I'm so much happier without drwatson.
     
  7. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Why the hell is it Called Dr.Watson Anyway :blink:
     
  8. strangequark

    strangequark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    OZ
    elementary my dear ................:ninja:
     
  9. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Where is the DrWatson log file?
    Can I delete it if I want?
    How to turn DrW off? ..oops sorry saw that above.

    Thx.
     
  10. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    off topic posts removed and ask that We take the humorous discussion to PM or somewhere more appropriate Please.

    Bubba
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.