Downside to Norton ConnectSafe?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by nine9s, Feb 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nine9s

    nine9s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Posts:
    265
    Location:
    USA
    I assume only downside is it might prevent you from going to a legitimate site that it flagged incorrectly - or are there other drawbacks to using it?

    If so what?

    Also, have people who have used it found it to block legitimate sites much?
     
  2. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    Some legitimate sites are indeed blocked, ran into that a few times, but not too many.

    But, for the most part, it does block a good amount of bad ones as well.

    In my personal tests, I found that OpenDNS blocks more than any of the DNS services I've used, which is the reason why I'm using it now.

    Norton ConnectSafe would be my second choice.
     
  3. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,049
    Location:
    USA
    I find it to be slower than most other services and slower to pick up new site registrations than others. Overall it is ok but not my first choice.
     
  4. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    its actually the only thing I love of norton is the DNS.My ISP DNS idea of what they call safe search is hey this site may contain adult content or malware are you sure you want to continue.Click yes and off you go straight to it.Norton connect safe at least just blocks it.Great for the family and kids and it has been totally reliable.
     
  5. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    520
    Has anyone noticed it? If I type anything other than a web address in firefox address bar I am being redirected to norton search powered by ask:rolleyes: I have to use the search bar to use google.
     
  6. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Only in FF? Would be very surprised. E.g. OpenDNS hijacked Google search altogether, and even had the balls to call Google out for being spyware wrt their branded Dell search, marketing their own hijack as being superior solution which is "solving this problem".

    :eek: o_O
     
  7. Antimalware18

    Antimalware18 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    417
    I use it to back up K9 Web Protection and I have so far noticed no downside at all. I would however like to see a recent comparision between Norton DNS and OpenDNS
     
  8. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    520
    Just checked again. If I type only one word in firefox address bar I am redirected to ask search. More than one word it is google search:cool:. So ask search is implemented in a controlled manner (for now;))
     
  9. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Something here isn't right. Norton DNS use is controlled by setting the IP addresses for Norton DSN primary and alternate DNS servers in your IPv4 network settings.There are different IP addresses depending on the content category you wish to filter.

    Sounds to me that somehow you downloaded and installed Norton's Safeweb Lite? This would have installed the Norton search toolbar on your browser home page. Norton's Safeweb Lite uses Ask as the search engine. If Norton Safeweb Lite is installed, you can uninstall it using Windows add/remove programs. Or alternately, you can disable the toolbar add-on in your browser.
     
  10. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Its strange to see Norton associated to Ask... Norton is a respected and successful company (AFAIK) and their products are expensive.
    Is there an option to "untick" the toolbar during installation?
     
  11. TheWindBringeth

    TheWindBringeth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Posts:
    2,085
    More info would help, but in case one of these is useful:

    1) From Oct 2012
    2) https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/k...bookmarks-history-and-tabs#w_url-autocomplete
    3) http://kb.mozillazine.org/Location_Bar_search
     
  12. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  13. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    520

    I didn't install norton safeweb lite or ask search. I know all my programs. I have implemented default deny SRP so the chance of accidentally installing safeweb is not there:). I have checked for this behaviour both in my pc and laptop.

    I switched over to another dns and I am no longer redirected to ask search.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2013
  14. FOXP2

    FOXP2 Guest

    So, is there a downside to Norton ConnectSafe?
     
  15. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    OK. Now I know what your referring to. Same thing happened to me today. It's a separate popup when Norton DNS cannot find the IP address.

    I have also seen weird svchost.exe connections when browsing to what appears to be connects to MS mail spam servers so I also dumped Norton DNS.
     
  16. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Yes, it connects you to Ask search engine... :thumbd:
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. ankupan
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    1,320
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.