downloaded trial version - installation is asking for the installation disk

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Simon Love, Jul 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Simon Love

    Simon Love Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    having downloaded the trial version from the Acronis web site and during installation it is asking me
    'installation disk is needed' for location of the file
    'timntr_2k.sys'
    Any ideas how I can get round that one??
    Simon
     
  2. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    I have seen something like this before years ago here in the threads, but that was ATI version 10!

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/archive/index.php/t-183851.html

    Back then Acronis Support said:

    "Please notice that this is a known issue and it has already been corrected in latest builds."

    If you are sure that you are using the latest trial version then you need to contact Acronis Live Chat and they will help you.
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Simon Love,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Products

    First of all I would recommend you download trial version once again and see if the issue persists. Can you please also clarify what is the exact title of the program you are interested in?

    If the issue remains please provide us the following diagnostic information:

    1.Launch the product installation file
    2.Once the Acronis product installation screen appears, right-click on the name of the component that fails to install. You should see two options there: Install and Extract. Select Extract
    3.Select the path for extracting the component and click Save
    4.Go to the Run prompt (Start -> Run) and issue the following command: msiexec /i path&msi-name /l*v log-name.log, where path&msi-name is the name and path of the file you extracted in steps 2-3 and log-name.log is the path and the name to the log file you want to save the output to. For example, msiexec /i D:\AcronisFolder\AcronisTrueImage /l*v D:\log-name.log
    5.Reproduce the problem and attach to your next reply the log file created during the installation (it will be created on D partition).

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  4. mbc

    mbc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    i have the same problem installing Acronis True Image Home, latest Version
    during installation it's always asking for the Install Disk, installation want the file "timnt_2k.sys"
    I've tried it several times after a lot reboots and download again ...
    i wanted to upload the logfile but it says filesize 1mb and the filesize of my log is 3.5MB

    regards
    bern
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    To resolve the issue please do the following:

    Please install Acronis True Image to another computer temporarily, navigate to \WINDOWS\system32\drivers, find timntr.sys file, copy it to another folder, rename the copy to timntr_2k.sys and point the Installation wizard to this file.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.