download stops at 650kb

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus v4 Beta Forum' started by GrammatonCleric, Jan 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    Ok with Firefox 3.0.5 and Maxed out ESET AV NOD32 stops all downloads at 650kb and stays there.

    Please move to Version 4 AV beta forum.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2009
  2. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,856
    Are you running Fx in active mode in NOD32?
     
  3. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    No, active mode is not checked.

    Had to exlude firefox and IE from being scanned (RED X) then it worked.

    This needs to be fixed since I want my "IMON" aka webscanner to work if I can't use AH for my real-time scanner.

    MODS/DEVS if you need full system snapshots then let me know and send whatever info you need.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2009
  4. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    Oops can the mods move this to Version 4 AV BETA forum? I didn't realize I wasn't in beta.
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    Moved.
     
  6. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    Thanks!

    Ok everything fails at sub 1 MB when allowed to be scanned by NOD32 web scanner.
    That includes MALWAREBYTES tool, super antispyware, all browsers, everything net enabled that goes through the scanner if not excluded will fail..freeze at sub 1mb download.

    I don't know if it's because of NOD32 web scanner interferes with Outpost 2009 Dec25th build even though the preset rules for NOD32 Content scanner are autoset in the wall for everything that wants to be piped through it.

    This needs a fix since I don't want to use any other firewall. I have paid for lifetime lic for Outpost and I want to use outpost.

    I honestly don't know if it's outpost or something else that causes the problem, all I know that NOD32 2.7 did not have the issue.

    I am more then happy to co-operate with ESET support it's just that no one has contacted me yet regarding any data they might require.

    It got soo bad that I had to disable WEB PROTECTION in order to use the system.

    So now I have AH disabled in REal-time because it makes my system slugish and now web protection is down...what else should I cripple?
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2009
  7. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    Any fix for this yet?
    I have yet to be contacted by ESET support.
    I have to disable INTERNET scanner (Web scanner) in order to make anything work.
    Even red X on the FIrefox/IE/Opera will not change anything, it just stops at about 1 mb etc.
     
  8. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,856
    Did you actually send an email to support("at")eset[dot]com ?
     
  9. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    You could try this on Firefox. http://kb.mozillazine.org/Unable_to_save_or_download_files
     
  10. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    Thanks, tried that.
    It's not only FireFox and IE, it's everything that communicates via internet aka SKYPE (phone calls drop out), NNTP reader, STEAM (downloads just stop), Super Anti Spyware (definition update just stops halfway through the update), same goes for MalwareBytes etc.
    Will contact support again.

    Edit:
    Just sent them a support ticket request pointing to this thread.

    I am willing to provide any and all data necessary to fix this.
     
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    If you disable Outpost, do the files download correctly? Are you using a router?
     
  12. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    yes using Linksys with DD-wrt firmware Nov 18th release.
    Haven't tried Disabling Outpost however the web Control portion of Outpost has been disabled for NOd32 2.7 compatibility sake.
    Honestly I do not want to abandon my Outpost security, I like the wall, I find it very robust and a hell of a lot better then what is currently being offered here, plus i got the free lifetime lic and had it since 2005 so why give up a good thing.
    2.7 seemed to have worked with Outpost, I don't need outposts web control, I got adblock, I just want my wall to be a well and hence I like the modularity of Agnitum.

    I am more then willing to help the Eset team with pinpointing the culprit and getting a workaround, if it is Outpost then I am more then willing to work between them two (Eset and Agnitum) in attempt to solve the incompatibility.

    I have some large files to transfer to my Online backup so I will not be able to check the outpost portion of things for at least the next few hours.

    Finally I do not want to abandon my first line of Defense...that is my router. If it's the router then I would rather go back to 2.7 of NOD32 and supplement the detection with Avira or KAV then let that go.

    Thanks for listening!
     
  13. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,856
    Have you tried updating the firmware?
     
  14. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    Of the Router?
    Yes it's running the latest DD-WRT firmware for the router.
    Besides the system worked perfectly on 2.7 and every other system in the house is working perectly on KAV, and AVIRA so I don't see why all of the sudden 4.0 will interact with my router firmware nor dislike any filtering that might be happening when router drops packets but even then it shouldn't matter to the AV afterall it won't see those pockets in the first place, and all malformed packets are dropped.
     
  15. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    28 hours after support ticket sent...no answer come on!

    Update:
    Now 48 hours after support ticket sent...still no answer.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2009
  16. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    3 days, sent 3rd e-mail right now.
    Do they actually want to listen to users who want to help with beta or not?
    How can they fix issues if they don't know what causes them?
    I mean honestly, where is the support?
     
  17. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,856
    You might want to try a different email address.
     
  18. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    In my 3rd attempt I tried:
    Sales
    Samples
    Support
     
  19. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    Hi GrammatonCleric:

    The proper email address would be betasupport [at] eset.sk

    In addition, this is from the beta FAQ.

    Please keep in mind that ESET may not respond to your report unless additional information is required in order to replicate the problem.
     
  20. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
  21. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,856
    I was actually referring to the email address you're sending from :p
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.