Download Accelerator

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by flyted, Nov 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. flyted

    flyted Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Posts:
    45
    Ad-Aware has a update thats 72MB, with my dial-up thats over 4 hours, my session times out at 4 hours, meaning I can never download it. Dial-up is my only choice here due to no sat signal and cable the other option $60/mo when I have zero need for cable, I'm stuck. Its not as easy as just paying a extra $20/mo or I'd do it. My ISP includes a accelerator but its graphics only and its weak. I doubt there really is anything that can accelerate a dial-up download but I thought I'd ask, I see several programs and some are free. I'm at about 4.5k/sec which isn't bad but w/o an improvement I'll simply continue to miss out on large security upgrades. Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2009
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,797
    Location:
    Texas
    Hello flyted,

    If there is something that will truly speed up dial up, I never found it. I tried most everything that came along.

    Broadband is the only answer be it cable or satellite if you can't use adsl.
     
  3. flyted

    flyted Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Posts:
    45
    No sat signal. dsl and cable require "packages" and I don't want cable tv, but its required to get the internet. I thought I was probably screwed and now it seems even more likely. Just never thought the basics of security upgrades would ever get so big that it would exceed 4 hours. My problem. Thanks for the response.
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2009
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,797
    Location:
    Texas
    Me either. :cool:
     
  5. JohnnyDollar

    JohnnyDollar Guest

    I have my broadband through a cable company and I don't have a tv package with them. I watch my T.V. through satellite.
     
  6. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,570
  7. flyted

    flyted Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Posts:
    45
    Thanks for the link. However, the very 1st sentence on the make says to make sure I'm using ver 8.1 or higher. 8.1 is what I'm trying to download.
     
  8. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    Before I got Broadband I used dialup I had a 56K modem, I tweaked my connection from 38k to 53k, I used cablenut software http://www.broadbandnuts.com/. It taps into the registry to change the values, you can also make sure your house wiring haves low signal loss. Like a direct line to the telco box and not a phone extension between the computer and the telco box. Check the links for cablenut website, there use to be websites that offered info on the INTERNET (Google is your friend). But I don,t know if that translates into real big download speed.
     
  9. flyted

    flyted Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Posts:
    45
    Another good idea, thanks. I think I probably have done most of what they will mention, but I will look again. I went to a lot of dial-up forums a year ago when I realized I was going to be stuck with it a while. It won't hurt to try again though. Once I went to dsl years ago, I thought it would never even be possible to get stuck with 56k again anywhere in the U.S. I guess that's why we never say never.
     
  10. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
  11. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    This response doesn't directly address the primary issue, but have you considered changing antimalware products?
    There are quite a few around (such as the very good MBAM) that are a great deal smaller to download and update.
     
  12. flyted

    flyted Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Posts:
    45
    That's another option. I already use MBAM and like it. Ad-aware has also been good, but your right, I may have to give up ad-aware if I can't find a solution and go with the lower MB products, 72MB seemed a little excessive anyway.
     
  13. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,976
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    flyted, a long time ago, when I was on dial-up, I used MetaProducts Download Express and it worked pretty good. Give it a try, you have nothing to lose.

    JR
     
  14. flyted

    flyted Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Posts:
    45
    Solution: As was pretty much expected, the dial-up connection was maxed out and no amount of tweaking helped much. I used a download manager from firefox that allowed me to save the download in 2 parts and complete it. For anyone else stuck with 56k, if you run XP, your modem is already set for max and if your downloads are 4.5-5k/sec, not much more you can do. Never did find any accelerators that worked for pure downloads of data. Thanks to all who replied, all were good ideas. Problem solved.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.