Doubts regarding outbound firewall on 7..

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by PunchsucKr, May 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PunchsucKr

PunchsucKr Registered Member

I've been using Win 7 for 8-9 months now with just the in-built firewall at default settings (no real outbound protection), so i thought today i should enable outbound protection as well as its already provided.

After setting it to the required level and configuring some services that were provided in a very helpful guide here at wilders, i have a few questions:

a)I have enabled access to windows update, MSE updates (BITS), error reporting and Time sync on svchost.exe,
    but when i look at my task manager there are just so many services running under it that i can't help but have doubts regarding how many more services do i need to enable outbound access?? So far i haven't come across any problems though.

b)I gave Win7 firewall control free a try and it had prompted me for 'system' accessing the internet. I have since uninstalled it as i did not find it so useful apart from some prompts. Should i enable access to system in the firewall (if yes then how?) or am i ok without giving it access?

c)Is enabling access for ICMP needed or can i live without it?

Please do care to go through my post. Thanks a lot for your time. :)

2. Brummelchen

Brummelchen Registered Member

The Windows built-in Firewall has no outbound popup dialog! (Home premium here)
    The only option is to set all blocked by default and let them out with rule.
    you only need the firewall service.

the poor w7fc is only inbound/outbound yes - but no ports and no zones.
    you should get pc tools firewall instead.
    w7fc uses the WFP windows filtering protocol als winwall, but have its own settings!

ICMP is important for some protocols
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Internet_Control_Message_Protocol